Turn it off, then back on.

Resetting is so helpful. In so many settings. I work in IT, and the joke is I often fix a lot of things by turning them off and then back on again.

Sometimes in order to function, stuff just needs a break. I use my phone all the time, for everything, and I can tell you it works better when I turn the poor thing off at night every now and then.

I work 40 hours a week, and am occasionally on call on weekends. I have two toddlers, I have a husband who likes to occasionally leave the house. Food is constantly needing to be bought, sleep needs to be had (by someone), a baby is being made (constantly.)

I find myself at night, usually right when I put the boys down, laying on the sofa exhausted. I have a studio full of art I’d like to work on, a gym membership collecting dust, a Bible I’d like to find, then read. (Don’t judge, I have a bible app on my phone too.)

Believe it or not lying on the sofa at night does not recharge me. Even though it happens less than I’d like, it’s the nights I drag my carcass to my studio/bible/exercise that I feel best. I’m not saying DOING is always best, but that dedicated time to something in which you find joy is often a lot more restful for your spirit than laying on a flat surface playing Bejeweled Blitz on your iphone until your eyes are blood shot.

I’m lazy by nature. I like laying around all day and doing nothing. At least I vaguely remember laying around all day doing nothing and liking it alot. But that’s not the best way to rest. Find a new way to turn off, to rest, to replenish, and I’ll bet you feel a lot better when it’s time to be on again.

This entry was posted in Jennifer by Jennifer James. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jennifer James

I'm a full time mom who works full time. I'm a painter, a dreamer, and a believer that the most feminist thing you can do is adore your femininity. I say what I think, when it's appropriate for sharing. I write when I feel like I have something to say. I love always.

One thought on “Turn it off, then back on.

  1. I find getting away and writing in my journal or taking a break from life and enjoying a long run are some of the best ways I can recharge. Sometimes just shutting my phone or computer off and getting out into nature for 30 minutes is enough to get back into the game for another day 🙂 Thanks for the reminder!

Speak to me...

