Thoughts on Having a Girl

I’ve watched friends have girls, obviously. I AM a girl, clearly. But I’ve never RAISED a girl.

Will there be more or less drama? Experienced mom’s of both sons and daughters tell me that boys are far more whiney. I thought the opposite would be true.

I wonder what kind of stuff she’ll be into, with two older brothers. Trucks? Barbies driving trucks? Tea parties or mud pies? Both?

I grew up in a house of all girls. We were just as into dancing in the rain as we were dancing in our dress up clothes.

Part of me feels disloyal to my boys, being so excited about a girl. I was excited for boys too, but this time I feel like it’s a whole new adventure, all over again. Not just another child but a GIRL one. I’ve never put a dress on one of my children before. (Headbands yes, dress no, and the headband was at his request.)

I’ve never been super into decorating a nursery. Frankly it seems like something people with extra money do, because let’s be honest, babies could care less. If you cosleep for the first few months, like I do, (I’m not a hippy, I don’t like going into the other room 10 times a night when I could just scoop a baby out of a bassinet right next to me) there doesn’t seem to be much point.

Now I find myself dreaming of a pottery barn kid’s shopping budget, of botanical print paintings I could do, of how to make a room feminine without it being so…pink.

Then I realize, I’ll be mother of the bride someday. I need to brush up on my french braiding skills. I have to buy some of those tiny hair elastics (if this baby has hair, her brothers were mostly bald for a LOOONG TIME). I am going to have to talk to my child about her period, one day. Now that is something I never thought I’d have to do.

I can raise gentlemen, of that I have no doubt, and now I get to raise a lady too.

This entry was posted in Baby #3, Jennifer by Jennifer James. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jennifer James

I'm a full time mom who works full time. I'm a painter, a dreamer, and a believer that the most feminist thing you can do is adore your femininity. I say what I think, when it's appropriate for sharing. I write when I feel like I have something to say. I love always.

Speak to me...

