Why Her Toms are Cooler Than Yours

I finally got a client for the project I’ve been dying to do for a long time.

Paint some Toms shoes! The lovely Katrina Styles asked me to paint her new ash colored Toms with leafless trees, and of course I jumped at the chance.

I’ve had the supplies to paint fabric for a while, and have painted some cute onesies for Riker like this one,

and I had such a blast. It’s very close to painting in acrylics, with a slight twist in that you can’t layer as much without the fabric becoming stiff. But once it’s heat set, it’s very easy to launder (gentle cycle and low heat in the dryer) and very durable. And as you’ll see, the possibilities are endless for painting fabrics!

I first bought my own fabric painting supplies to replicate a pair of Lucky Brand floral patterned sweats that were 80 bucks. 80 dollars. For sweats. Whatevs, I’ll make them myself!

One pair of 15 dollar sweats from Old Navy and some fancy stuff for my regular acrylic paint, and away I went! I’m pretty pleased with the results, and I get a lot of compliments because NO ONE ELSE HAS THESE! A designer piece! It’s a great feeling to make a simple piece of clothing everyone has totally unique to me.

So, when Katrina said she wanted custom Toms, I jumped at the chance. I’m so happy with the end results, and I really think she likes them.

I learned a little bit in the process of painting hers that will make the next pair go much faster.

The possibilities are endless for what I can paint: Toms, Chuck Taylors, baby onesies, sweats, tshirts. Basically anything made of canvas or cotton. I can’t wait to do the next piece!

2 thoughts on “Why Her Toms are Cooler Than Yours

Speak to me...

