Brief Thoughts (Not Thoughts On Briefs)

I have a moment here to toss up a blog post for you to read in the morning. I listen to a podcast by a very liberal comedien, and today he was talking about perception of Christians as targets for comediens and the media. He had some very interesting points to make, primarily about how aren’t Christians supposed to be loving the poor, and caring for the orphans and widows? Not shutting people out of churches and protesting at funerals of soldiers and vilifying women who choose to end the lives of their unborn children?

It made me wonder, about Christianity, and his complaints about “our” religion’s interactions with the world. Because he’s right. Some Christians do some weird-o stuff in the name of Jesus.

I found myself asking the Lord, “Jesus, how can we care for your world? How can we love the homeless, save orphans, fight for life without demonizing the life-makers? How can we show the world we aren’t a bunch of hateful close minded bigots?”

You can’t please everyone all the time. If you take a stand, there’s going to be someone who disagrees with you. I get that. I know you can’t be of the world. I get it.

Love. Love is the only answer. All we can do, is cry out that the Love of God would be shown to the world through us. Maybe then it won’t be about our religion, which can be a farce. It will be about our God, who so loved the world he gave his only son.

I might fail often, but I want to be the person who loves well. Now who wants a hug?

This entry was posted in Jennifer, Thoughts on God by Jennifer James. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jennifer James

I'm a full time mom who works full time. I'm a painter, a dreamer, and a believer that the most feminist thing you can do is adore your femininity. I say what I think, when it's appropriate for sharing. I write when I feel like I have something to say. I love always.

One thought on “Brief Thoughts (Not Thoughts On Briefs)

  1. Love and prayer, and research. I think all of these things are imperative. To be an educated, rational Christian with the ability to explain and justify why we believe what we believe and why we’ve decided to let Christ change our lives. To immerse ourselves in Scripture and understand what we’re reading. And, most important, to pray for the people we want to change.

Speak to me...

