Ramblin’

I sat staring at my computer screen for a few minutes, trying to figure out what to write about. The friend that showed up, only to disappear again? The fact that I find when I have the opportunity to make new friends, the idea exhausts me, because I just want to jump to the part where you know each other so well you can sit side by side at a coffee shop, reading, and still enjoy being together?

The new shoes I got yesterday? How I miss my family every day? The long work weeks, the money stress, the fact that my new phone case is so slippery that my iPhone has basically become a greased up air hockey puck?

Yeah, I don’t know which to talk about either.

We skype with my parents a lot, because the boys are getting to the age that they ask. “Skype my nana?” Caden asks. “NANA! *finger point*” demands Riker. My in laws are in town this weekend, which is awesome. I love seeing them hang out with the boys, and they are so sweet with them and so generous. Last night I was putting the boys to bed, and I told Riker and Caden, who had just received clean diapers and fresh, post-bath pajamas, “Go say goodnight to gramma and grandpa!”

They promptly ran to the computer, which wasn’t on, and started waving madly yelling, “LOVE YOU NANA, LOVE YOU GRAMPA, NIGHT NIGHT SEE YA!”

It broke my heart a little. They were saying goodnight to my parents, whom apparently they believe live in our iMac. I ushered them out to kiss goodnight to the grandparents that were there, and they delivered i love you’s and kisses to all. So I guess all the grandparents got a good night last night, from the boys. Maybe I’ll just leave the skype connection to my house running at all times from now on?

For once in my life I’ve managed to have all my family’s christmas presents ordered and hopefully shipped on time to be there christmas morning. I still need to get my boys their christmas jammies, and a some stocking stuffers. I’m thinking of giving them kitchen spatulas/accessories, since that’s all they want to play with lately. I’m also thinking of giving Riker a surge protector. He’s obsessed.

I’ve planned this post to go up while I’m working on Sunday. That shift (this shift) should kick me over 70 hours. It’s been a good week.

This entry was posted in Family, Jennifer, Kiddo's by Jennifer James. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jennifer James

I'm a full time mom who works full time. I'm a painter, a dreamer, and a believer that the most feminist thing you can do is adore your femininity. I say what I think, when it's appropriate for sharing. I write when I feel like I have something to say. I love always.

Speak to me...