The Real Thing

You’ve seen them. The sheepskin boots on every college girl in the continental US. They’re called “Uggs” and they are amazing. Soft, durable, the uggs I bought 5 years ago are still comfy and in great shape. The natural animal material breathes, so your feet don’t get too hot, or too cold, or heaven forbid, sweaty.

There are lots of skeepskin looking boots on the market, available almost everywhere. They’re made of sythetic or faux leather and fur, and they don’t breathe right. Because they are made of lesser materials, they are cheap, which is awesome. But, they don’t hold a candle to the real thing. They don’t last, they stifle your feet and aren’t nearly as comfortable or satisfying.

This holds true with many of the products I know and love. Oreos, (fake oreos are repulsive), shoes (cheap shoes don’t last), sheets, shampoo, and food. Synthetic or copies of a natural or real product just don’t hold up. I know it’s not always the most cost effective thing, but if I can, I try to buy the real thing. Call me pretentious, but I like brand names, natural products, the genuine article. They just last longer, they hold up better, they don’t break or fall apart or crap out like generics or make me sick.

I was walking up stairs to work this morning, and commented to a co-worker that I liked her furry boots. She told me, “they were super cheap, I got them at old navy.” I thought how interesting it was impossbile to tell them apart from “real” sheepskin boots, and how much less they cost. I mean, if you didn’t know what you were looking at, you’d never know her’s werent’ “real.”

How true this is with spiritual life. I want to be a girl that has the real thing, because the real thing, the genuine article is the thing that lasts. Thank heavens Jesus already paid all the costs involved. All I have to do is search out the genuine article, a inner life that isn’t just a copy cat of someone elses’ “real thing.”

In other news, I need some Uggs with buttons.

This entry was posted in Jennifer by Jennifer James. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jennifer James

I'm a full time mom who works full time. I'm a painter, a dreamer, and a believer that the most feminist thing you can do is adore your femininity. I say what I think, when it's appropriate for sharing. I write when I feel like I have something to say. I love always.

Speak to me...

