Thanksgiving

I’ve started a new workout regime, thanks to the holiday work schedule (can’t get up to work out in the morning when you are in to work at 6am). I’m on day 4 of p90x, and I am so sore I can’t even bend my arm back to crack my back. It’s bad yo, and I thought I was in shape. I’m thankful for a body that can lift and bend and be fit. I remember what it’s like to be the other way, ungainly and awkward and not what I wanted.

I am reminded more than ever- be thankful. Not just because it was just thanksgiving, where I had a house full of friends and toddlers and one very quiet sleeping baby and one very quiet hiding dog. But because it’s very important to focus on what I DO have, or go mad.

Look at it this way. I could choose to position my heart this way:
” OHMYGOD I work 7 days a week right now. I’m up at 4:30a and work 11 hours, then go home and have to help clean up after dinner, and workout at some point. Not to mention talk to my husband who I barely ever see, much less spend time alone with. I need winter clothes like nobodies business, but we have bills to pay and are you serious that property tax on cars is 10%? It’s amazing we can even buy food right now. My kitchen floor has been exposed subfloor for months now for who knows why and why don’t we live someplace where we could have HELP?”

Or, you could try this:
I am SO GLAD the boys are healthy. We’ve missed stomach flu, and nobody has a cold. I am so thankful for my job. Lots of people are out of work right now, I’m super blessed to not only have a job but have a job where I can work over time and make extra when we need. Yeah, we didn’t have date money this week, but we had money to get food, and we have netflix to watch together. I’m glad I got some great board on sale from a friend so I have an art project to work on.”

It’s all about how you decide to position your heart. A thankful heart makes a big difference in your outlook on life. I’m working really really hard right now to focus on what the Lord IS doing, and not worry about the other stuff. It’s a lot of praying, I’ll be honest.

I started crying the other night, because I saw on tv a very famous girl have 2 RACKS of clothes brought in by a stylist so she could pick out outfits for a trip home. I know, I’m not proud that a) I was watching reality tv B) I cried watching reality tv c)covetousness in general.

I’m not being a hero, I’ve had some temper tantrums lately over money, directed at my spouse. Not because I think it’s his fault or anything, he’s just the only person around to talk to. And you guys of course. He often reminds me, “it’s not always going to be this way.” He’s right. It’s not. It sure feels that way right now. Like swimming with one nostril out of the water.

The important thing to remember is this: We may not have extra, but we have enough. THAT is a blessing worth being thankful for.

Send new clothes.

This entry was posted in Jennifer by Jennifer James. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jennifer James

I'm a full time mom who works full time. I'm a painter, a dreamer, and a believer that the most feminist thing you can do is adore your femininity. I say what I think, when it's appropriate for sharing. I write when I feel like I have something to say. I love always.

One thought on “Thanksgiving

  1. GREAT attitude makeover, Jennifer! God blesses a grateful, thankful heart. I’m not saying he’ll bless it with winter coats falling from the sky or anything, but I think our thankfulness is a sweet offering to the Lord, that it makes Him happy.

    Just keep swimming, eventually you’ll get that other nostril outta there…

Speak to me...

