Back to the Gym

My pants don’t fit. Admittedly, they are only a skosh tight. But still, my pants don’t fit.

I never made it to my goal. I’d like to. I don’t know that I can work out 2 hours a day while working 7 days a week and still be a nice person, but I have got to stop letting myself off the hook simply because “if I can’t do a full workout, what’s the point?”

I feel like maybe, but writing down what I plan to do, I’ll feel more accountable. Even if I never get super cut, or have abs ever again, at least I can look myself in the eye and say I tried.

I’m not trying right now. I want to try. Here’s my plan:

Track my food, every day, using the free app/website myfitnesspal.com. I already know how many calories I need to consume a day (set by my trainer a few months ago).

Work out, in some form or fashion, for at least 30 minutes a day. Be it a run,  a trip to the gym, p90X at home, or running while the bundled up boys chase me in the stroller. Just something. Some days it will be before work, others in the evening.

Do not eat junk food at work. If I do, then no treats at night. This is a tough one, because I am stress eater, and the holiday season at work is stressFULLLLLLLL.

Stay away from the scale, and judge how I’m doing by how I feel and how my clothes fit. This will be different than my weight loss journey that began last January, where I was militantly measuring and weighing. I can’t spend that much time absorbed with this right now. Not when I’m working every day, and still have a husband, sons and a house that needs my attention.

The only way to really fail at something is to not try at all. I can’t give it 110% percent right now, but I can try.

I estimate I have about 15 pounds to go until my goal weight. I may weigh myself just to see where I’m starting. Pray for me, for doing this during the holidays will take a “stress eating/emotional binger/surrounded by crap food always” miracle.

This entry was posted in Jennifer, Weight Loss by Jennifer James. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jennifer James

I'm a full time mom who works full time. I'm a painter, a dreamer, and a believer that the most feminist thing you can do is adore your femininity. I say what I think, when it's appropriate for sharing. I write when I feel like I have something to say. I love always.

3 thoughts on “Back to the Gym

  1. Same boat, friend, same boat. When my doc told me to cut back the carbs, which are my primary food group, it was a reality check. I haven’t been exercising either. Time to get healthier and happier again.

Speak to me...

