Stop Hating The 1%

This is my blog, and full of my opinion. And it’s just that- my opinion. So you can’t yell at me, because what I think in my own brain is my business.

I want you to think differently about the 1%, and here is why.

I grew up in a family with a modest income. Mom and Dad never discussed money around us, in so much that financial woe’s were never brought to my or my sister’s attention. I know we had some lean times when I was little.

I do remember one year a family friend took my sister Meghan and I out for lunch, and at Nordstroms bought us new winter dress coats and patent leather dress shoes. When we got home, I didn’t understand at the time why my mom cried when she saw them. It was because we had really needed new coats, and mom couldn’t afford them and had been praying for God to make a way for those new coats to show up.

My parents work really hard, my dad in sales (if you asked, he’d tell you he sells folding chairs but it’s a bit more complex than that) and my mom as a housewife. Taking care of a home and two kids is no pic-a-nic. Especially when you factor in homeschooling, dance lessons, budgeting etc.

When I was a teenager, we moved to a larger house in a nicer part of town. Having never been made aware of a shortage of finances (we were well provided for, no matter how lean things might have been in reality) I wasn’t blatantly aware when financial matters grew better. Nothing much in life really changed. Dad worked really hard, Mom, Meghan and I lived comfortably in a nice house. I didn’t get a new car when I was 16, I got a job. We knew the value of a dollar.

We barely ever ate out, we didn’t take expensive vacations, that’s never changed. We did fun family things, and had people over to eat and cooked for people on our gas stove when the power went out. In short, we had money, but we were taught to value it, and spend it wisely.

My family is unfailingly generous. They provide for people in their times of need, financially, emotionally, whatever. That’s a generosity of spirit that simply spills over into a generosity with money, specifically. I was an adult before I realized that by all accounts, my parents are, most likely, *whisper* wealthy *whisper*.

They work very hard for that money, and sow into the lives of fellow human beings over and over again. They’ve bailed us out more times than I can count. They never ask for attention, in fact I’m wondering if even writing this post is going to be a little too much pointing of the proverbial spot light.

I have paid very little attention to the whole 99% vs 1% thing. Mostly because a mom with a full time job who also paints and is tired really doesn’t have a whole lot of free time to read the news. At least, I don’t.

I get it, basically. But in essence, we are just sowing one more seed of division and anger. Is that really helping? The one thought I can’t stop thinking is:

If I was in that 1%, you can bet your knickers I’d feel differently. If I had money, I’d want to use it to fund adoptions, buy nice things for my children, buy winter coats for my friends kids. Take a plane to see my family. Take my friends to the spa when they get stressed out. Have two cars. Buy my husband the camera he needs for his job. I wouldn’t want to give my money up because some dude in a suit who’s most likely texting inappropriate pictures to under age girls told me I have to.

Rich people aren’t the enemy. Love one another. Stop villifying people who earn money. Some of them are bad, yes. Some buy foreign women, or drugs, or spend it drilling oil shafts in harbor seal breeding grounds.

Some wealthy people support the arts, fund your intercessory missionary lifestyle, buy winter coats for kids. When they buy that new Mercedes, that sales person takes home a big commission check to his family. Building that new house makes jobs. Working for that big paycheck lets them write your support check.

I am not disagreeing that clearly something in this country’s economy has gone horribly wrong. All we have is God, and each other. How does hate-mongering help any of that? And that’s essentially what all this is= class warfare, and hate mongering dressed up as activism. Yes, that statement is an oversimplification, and yes, peacable protest is a good thing. Maybe it will bring about the change we need. Maybe it will stir up hatred in the hearts of people. I won’t pretend to know enough to say one way or the other.

I do know this: I can’t bring myself to get angry at rich people. I hope to be one some day.

This entry was posted in Jennifer by Jennifer James. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jennifer James

I'm a full time mom who works full time. I'm a painter, a dreamer, and a believer that the most feminist thing you can do is adore your femininity. I say what I think, when it's appropriate for sharing. I write when I feel like I have something to say. I love always.

2 thoughts on “Stop Hating The 1%

  1. I love your heart! Thank you for standing for the silent 1%. You have a beautiful way with words my daughter. You’re a gem:)

Speak to me...

