NaNoWriMo and Other Creative Stuff

November is an awesome month. My wedding anniversary is at the end of it, and fall weather is finally showing up around here.

Also, NaNoWriMo. For those of you unfamiliar, it’s short for National Novel Writers Month. It’s a month in which writers all over the country sign up to write a 50,000 word first draft of a novel, in one month. It’s a very cool idea, with a spiffy official page where you can learn where other NaNoWriMo participants in your area will be gathering to write (local coffee shops and book stores, mostly) and track the word counts of people all over the country.

My friend and published author Erika Mitchell has participated for a few years, I believe, and posts of it on her blog over at www.parsingnonsense.com.

I have a dilemma. I have what I think is a good idea for a book. But, it’s not fiction. I won’t divulge, because people are rampant idea thieves. It’s clever. I think it would be fun for people to read. It would be cool to try and bang out an entire novel in 31 (30?) days.

I already am struggling with my time management. My life is packed. I have two babies, a husband, work full time, often 11 hour days this time of year. I need to get some art work done, because sold art work means extra money, which we really need.

I haven’t been to the gym in a month.

I haven’t gone on a date with Aaron in a month. Not one time out alone. In a month. We sort of high five while we’re brushing our teeth, but that doesn’t count.

I am tired of making excuses to let myself out of things, and I don’t know if I can commit to something and fail at it too, like I’m failing at working out, painting regularly, reading ever etc.

Maybe I should make one of those excel schedules I’m always mocking other people for using. The color coded ones that break your life into 30 minute increments.

we-ooo. What to do?!

This entry was posted in Jennifer by Jennifer James. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jennifer James

I'm a full time mom who works full time. I'm a painter, a dreamer, and a believer that the most feminist thing you can do is adore your femininity. I say what I think, when it's appropriate for sharing. I write when I feel like I have something to say. I love always.

Speak to me...

