Pinterest Disease

There is a wonderful site called www.pinterest.com, where you can make “boards” and “pin” things you like to those boards. I have one for hair, for art I like, for things I consider “my style” and things I want. Pinterest is an amazing source of inspiration for me artistically. See this explanation from wikipedia:

Pinterest is an vision board-styled social photo sharing website where users can create and manage theme-based image collections.

Pinterest has given me a disease. I call it… Pinterest Disease. Clever, don’t you think? And they say writing is hard.

Here are the symptoms of Pinterest Disease, beware of it in your spouse, your girlfriend, your sister, your mom. You. You could have it right now, and it’s spreading every day. 
– A aggravated sense of one’s own ability to “do it yourself.”
– delusions of contractor-ness. You suddenly believe you’ve been a general contractor/master carpenter your whole life, and can build wainscotting from leftover yogurt containers.
– a deep desire to move to a cottage on cape cod, full of pillows made from burlap sacks
– vociferous desire to have antlers in every room of your house
– the growing need to have more “old tshirts” to turn into scarves, ruffles on other pieces of clothing, or rosettes.
– lack of ability to factor time, in that you suddenly are doing 15 projects that should have taken “no time at all!” to finish, see also “I’ve been on pinterest for three hours while my children unloaded all the laundry out of the closet and flung it down the stairs.”
– arthritis of the pointer finger, caused by scrolling, endlessly scrolling…
– bloodshot eyes from counting crochet stitches in the cute pattern in the tiny picture
– weight loss. Cause? You stare at pinterest so long you forget to eat.

Pinterest disease can become rampant if left unchecked. And no, you can’t do that yourself. You are not a contractor. You do not have access to the time, materials, or knowledge. That may be a cute little shed to keep your lawn mower in, but it cost Martha Stewart 20,000k dollars and two migrant workers died harvesting that wood from that tree that only exists in that one jungle to make that chevron patterned board floor.

Now excuse me, I have to go research fall 2011 suede kitten heeled peep toe vintage inspired shoe patterns that I can make out of last years flip flops and an old tshirt. Maybe I’ll even add a rosette.

This entry was posted in Jennifer, Misc by Jennifer James. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jennifer James

I'm a full time mom who works full time. I'm a painter, a dreamer, and a believer that the most feminist thing you can do is adore your femininity. I say what I think, when it's appropriate for sharing. I write when I feel like I have something to say. I love always.

One thought on “Pinterest Disease

Speak to me...

