Addict

My name is Jennifer, and I am addicted to coffee. I don’t even want it. I hate it. I want it not! I’ve been feeling really gross lately. Crabby, over-sugared, speedy and tired. It’s time for a good cleanse, or at least a few days of seriously healthy fruits and veggies.

Every morning, I have a latte. That’s so I can function. I’m tired when I go to bed, I’m tired when I wake up. I’m tired at work and I’m crabby all the time.

Enter in adrenal glands. If you read any diagnosis of adrenal malfunction, you can also use that same paragraph to describe me. Here are some common symptoms:

  • Waking up in the mid-portion of the night
  • Unable to fall asleep
  • Anxiety
  • Depression
  • Increased susceptibility to infections
  • Midday Fatigue
  • Reduced tolerance for stress
  • Craving for sweets and salty foods
  • Allergies to things you were never allergic to before
  • Chemical sensitivities
  • A tendency to feel cold (many people and doctors think they have hypothyroidism).

 I may be overstating my case, alot of my tiredness is just life. I have two sons and a full time job and a husband and house. Life is busy! But after two years of drinking coffee every day and sugar every night, I’m tired of it. I want to be free of my addictions to food. It’s not enough to be thin, I’d like to feel good again.

I want to enjoy cake or coffee. On special occasions, not need them every day to be a nice person.

Amanda Box, a wonderful naturopath suggested adrenaplex, a supplement to help replenish my shot adrenal glands, and l-theanine serene, a supplement to help cope with crazy stress feelings.

Danielle Henry, foodie to the stars, (well, if I’m a star) suggested a cleanse that followed these lines:

– Week one: eat anything that is a plant, and don’t eat anything that doesn’t qualify as a plant. Kick out dairy, sugar, caffeine, and meat.
– Week two- same as above, but make 80% raw plants and fruits.
– Week three- raw veggies and fruits only.

When my supplements get here, it’s goodbye coffee and sugar. Just until I don’t need them anymore. I really want to commit to doing this cleanse, and Dani suggested lots of healthy fats like avocado and quality flax oil, to keep my brain running.

Until I feel brave enough to do the entire cleanse, I’m eating a lot of Maria Faires’ (my trainer and certificed nutrionists) antioxidant salad, with lean protein, for each lunch and dinner. Aaron just made a huge bowl today. you should try it!

Antioxidant Salad Recipe

     
4 cups chopped romaine
4 cups spinach, torn in bite-size pieces
2 cups broccoli florets
2 cups finely shredded red cabbage
2 cups sliced red bell pepper
2 cups grated carrot
4 tomatoes, chopped          
1 cup beans Choose from pinto beans, chickpeas, lentils, black-eyed peas, pink, navy, black, white,lima, kidney beans; if canned, rinse. (These are ranked from highest nutrition to lowest of all the best beans. So all of these are highly nutritious).
1 cup edamame (soybeans), thawed and shelled
1 avocado, cubed
4 tbsp. Pecans, pumpkin seeds (pepitas) or chopped almonds or chopped walnuts or shelled sunflower seeds

Combine all ingredients in a very large bowl except dressing and seeds or nuts.  Toss with 2 Tbsp Low-Fat Salad Dressing just before serving. Cover leftovers and store in the refrigerator.

Other superstar vegetables you can add to your salad for variety: parsley, green leaf lettuce, Brussels sprouts, red leaf lettuce, green bell pepper, peas, arugula, snow peas, and asparagus. Superstar fruit you can add to your salad: grapefruit, kiwifruit, dried apricot, orange, raspberries, strawberries).

Wish me luck! I don’t want to be an addict anymore.

This entry was posted in Misc by Jennifer James. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jennifer James

I'm a full time mom who works full time. I'm a painter, a dreamer, and a believer that the most feminist thing you can do is adore your femininity. I say what I think, when it's appropriate for sharing. I write when I feel like I have something to say. I love always.

One thought on “Addict

Speak to me...

