Don’t be a Hater

I have received a hilarious cacophony of verbiage regarding my new running shoes, adorably pictured here:

When you begin minimalist running it’s very important to start slow. Instead of busting out these bad boys for their first run, I’m starting by just wearing them to work all day. I’ll do a half mile in them on a track 3 times a week, then work up from there. Feet are used to running in shoes, so it takes your ligaments, bones and tendons time to adjust to running in minimalist shoes. Don’t worry, I’ve done my research. I’m being careful, and going slow.

 Now, I realize, these shoes may not be everyone’s cup of tea. Yes, it’s a bit odd to wear shoes that have individual toe pockets. But wow, really? The VFF (Vibram Five Fingers) backlash is acerbic and LOUD!

First, my mother, a sweet and mild tongued woman- “Those are the ugliest shoes I’ve ever seen.”

Then, my boss’s boss- “Jennifer. Those are bizarre. What on earth.”

Then, fellow intrepid blogger Jessica Clark- “Hideous. Congratulations.”

Now, it’s all said with a smile, and no one is out to be vicious, but when is the last time you sported a new piece of apparel and someone ran up to you and said, “WHOAH! THAT IS THE UGLIEST THING I HAVE EVER SEEN!” I mean, even if they were joking, it’s kinda hurty.

Seriously people, don’t be haters. You don’t have to wear them, and honestly, if you knew what I paid for them you’d probably be double apalled. Some girls spend money on bags. Some spend their money on high heels or lipstick or video games or books. I spend my money on my sneakers, and fitness gear.

I wear 80 dollar Anthropologie skirts I find on ebay for 10. I buy almost all my high heels at a great site called zooshoo.com for about 15 a piece.

My sneakers? Puma’s, average cost- 75. Now I don’t pay that much for them, I buy them gently used on ebay, but still. My running shoes? Brooks- bought as cheap as I can find them, but still, running shoes are pricey. VFF are no exception. Anything well made is going to cost you something.

Today at work I shall be live tweeting my co-workers reactions to my new shoes, and tagging those tweets #VFF. I expect a lot of haters, but I also have some co-workers, one or two in particular, that were excited to see them in action.

My initial thoughts on them are: Wow, it’s like being barefoot, but protected from weird rocks and glass and what not. Wow, I am suddenly very aware of my toes. Wow, these shoes were made to drive a stick shift. Wow, these things are really freakin’ comfortable. Wow, I’m going to get a lot of weird looks.

As a former ballerina, this is a whole new kind of  toe shoes. 🙂

This entry was posted in Misc by Jennifer James. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jennifer James

I'm a full time mom who works full time. I'm a painter, a dreamer, and a believer that the most feminist thing you can do is adore your femininity. I say what I think, when it's appropriate for sharing. I write when I feel like I have something to say. I love always.

3 thoughts on “Don’t be a Hater

  1. See, I’m totally not a hater, because I’m not like THOSE SUCK THEY WONT EVEN WERK AND UR FEET LOOK WIERD.
    I’m just saying, from an aesthetic perspective, they are not an “attractive” shoe. They look like zombie duck feet, but I know they’re cool and that runners and parkour types and athletes find them totally awesome and useful.

    But I am sorry if I hurt your feelings. I know you’re excited, and I’m excited for you, to get even hotter and skinnier. 🙂

  2. This just makes me laugh because, for the longest time, my mother refused to wear shoes. She’d go barefoot everywhere, heedless of temperature or weather, and if it was a special event she’d put on an anklet and call it good.

    So, when she started wearing her very own VFF’s, we all applauded and told her she’d found some marvelous shoes.

    So I guess the moral of the story is…Embrace who you are. Embrace others. And enjoy your new shoes.

  3. Jessica- My feelings were not hurt! I know you, and the tone in which you speak, and thanks for loving me and my zombie duck feet.

    Erika- I kind of love them. Different is beautiful too.

Speak to me...

