State of The Union

I think the word update makes more sense if you split it into two words. Up and date. UPDATE! I haven’t really given a James house State of the Union address in a while. And unlike the Presidential State of the Union, I will actually say things that matter, and they will be funny. Like the Presidential State of the Union, it will be long, with no commercial breaks.

Let’s start with the kids.

Caden. Oh Caden. Here he is at a delicious almost 3 years old.


Caden is a gem. He really is. We are going through some two year old behaviour I could do without, with lots of screaming. But! He adores Sesame Street, and more recently, Veggie Tales. He sings the Veggie Tales song with something akin to joyous frenzy. He can count to 18, and knows his abc’s, and likes to sing when he feels like it. He’s so tall, and I just buzzed his Mad Scientist hair off, and now he looks like he’s ready to go get a drivers license and head to work.

He’s very cautious about odd things, like food, and dirt. In other ways he is completely crazy; he insists on going down slides face first on his stomach, and wrestles Riker with great abandon for anyone’s well being. I insist that he gets his energy from the sun, because he doesn’t really eat anything other than almond milk and triscuits. Once we think he ate some chicken, but it happened so fast….

 This year he even deigns to swim in the pool. He’s funny, and loud, and calls his many blankets his “BEE-BEES!!!” He sleeps wrapped in a down blanket, no matter how sweaty it makes him.

Next, we have my tiny pickle, Riker.

Riker is my snuggler. My little guy isn’t so little anymore, at 1.5 years old and almost 20 pounds, he’s even taller than his brother was at this age. With his new haircut, I often get asked if Riker and Caden are twins. I always have the same reply when people tell me how alike the boys look, “Well, they have the same dad.”

Riker is fast, because he has big brother to teach him how to do things. He still refuses to crawl down the stairs, even though Caden attemps to show him the right way “on your tummy!” constantly. He will fly up stairs, but unfortunately only knows how to fall down them. One day we won’t have to block the stair wells with tubs of clothes.

Rocket loves to eat. Avocado, banana, cereal, goats milk, your food, food he finds on the floor, things that aren’t edible. He has a stuffed lamb he carries everywhere, and says a few words when he feels like it. He’s starting to hold his own against his brother, and his favorite weapon is teeth. He likes to crack himself and his brother up, and he’s almost always laughing or smiling.

He still sleeps with his butt in the air.

My beloved Aaron

How do I begin. Aaron’s amazing. He is a wonderful, caring father. He’s taken to being a stay at home dad like fish take to water, but better. He cooks amazing meals, he cleans every day. He folds my underwear into these perfectly aligned little squares and then puts them away in a manner that thrills me to no end.

He plays Call of Duty and does P90X, and often prays deep and moving prayers that make me glad he’s in charge. He’s tender-hearted and the best listener I know, and life is never lonely with him around.

Aaron’s photography gets better every time he snaps a shutter. I feel like God is keeping him in this cocoon, so he can learn and grow, and one day, he’s going to explode onto the photography scene and everyone is going to want Aaron James to take their photographs. Did you know, he also shoots only film? Yes, no fancy letting the computer do all the work. He has to get it right the first time, and has to really know his stuff, because film cameras don’t have a view finder.  I adore his talents, and could care less if we ever make a dime from them, I just love seeing the world like he sees it.

Aaron still sleeps with his mouth wide open.

Last but not least, Me.

This photo of me was taken by a dear family friend, Shelley Paulson, Aaron’s mentor. It sums me up right now. Quiet. Waiting, and holding on. Neither thrilled nor sad. Just me.

I’m working, working working, and it’s fun. I’ve been out sick from the gym for far too long, and recently bought a scary pair of running shoes. I still don’t floss my teeth. Aaron commented the other night, “you’re so skinny, and your bones stick out in new places.” I simply replied, “Just wait, I’ll be fat again soon enough. 🙂 ”

I feel like I’m hibernating right now. It’s lonely, but it’s right. I don’t know where we are going, or what we are doing. All I know is we’ll do it together when the Lord tells us. It’s uncomfortable.

I sleep, and sometimes remember my dreams.

I know few things. I know I love my family. I know I have good hair. I know who’s in charge. And that’s the state of the Union.

This entry was posted in Misc by Jennifer James. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jennifer James

I'm a full time mom who works full time. I'm a painter, a dreamer, and a believer that the most feminist thing you can do is adore your femininity. I say what I think, when it's appropriate for sharing. I write when I feel like I have something to say. I love always.

3 thoughts on “State of The Union

  1. Out of all that wonderful prose, I could not stop laughing and thinking about Aaron folding your delicates into tiny squares… I do the laundry here and fold Darin’s undies, but mine go right in the drawer as-is because I never could figure out how to fold things that basically fold down into nothingness. I guess where there’s a will, there’s a way!

    Oh, and you do have great hair. It looks very red carpet worthy. : )

  2. Love that photo of you.

    Interesting post, really well-written. I often feel like God gives us a moment of peace before plunging us into a new adventure, so if that’s the case for you, enjoy the peace! Something cool is heading your way, I think.

  3. Kacie- it’s like underpants origami. I love it.
    Erika- It’s an odd sort of peace, like that lonely feeling of being really far into the forest, all alone, and wishing you were with friends. Still, I’m excited to see what He’s going to do.

Speak to me...

