How We Get Things Done

My sister has an oft- repeated phrase that she likes to whip out when people are talking about praying for things. “If God cares about everything, then he cares about anything.” Which is her fancy way of saying, “Just ask. Go ahead, you might be surpised at the answer.”

As many of you know, I paint. Not houses. Well, I could paint a house. But no, I paint me some fine arts. Like this:

Or this:

I’ve had that larger painting on the market for months, and it hasn’t sold. No biggie, it’s my favorite piece, so I’ve had it on my office desk for months, behind my monitor, like a window into the heart of my soul.

Ooo, poetry!

Well, as everyone knows, I’m dying to own a pair of these:

Yesterday I was asking the Lord, “Lord, I would really like these shoes. Can I have them?” And, as I sat praying at my desk, I stared, as I often do, into my painting.

Oh wait, my painting. I took a quick break, and put a picture of it online, pricing it at exactly the same amount of money as my running shoes. “If it sells, great, I’ll have shoe money. If not, no biggie, I’ll go on looking at it every day, for I love it.”

It sold in 9 minutes.

My God cares. Even better than caring, he hears. Call it coincidence if you want, I call it answered prayer.

New running shoes coming soon. Also coming soon, tales of how my co-workers are weirded out by my new shoes.

This entry was posted in Misc by Jennifer James. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jennifer James

I'm a full time mom who works full time. I'm a painter, a dreamer, and a believer that the most feminist thing you can do is adore your femininity. I say what I think, when it's appropriate for sharing. I write when I feel like I have something to say. I love always.

2 thoughts on “How We Get Things Done

Speak to me...

