Weight Loss: Week 17, The Final Post

This is it folks! The day is upon us. The goal date of April 23rd as arrived, and it’s time to see how I’ve done over the last 17 weeks of dieting and exercise. First off, let’s kick it off with pictures!

Week One: 167 pounds, January 1st (ish) 2011.

Final Week, Week 17:

Before: April 2010

After: April 2011

These are the size 14 pants I was wearing when I began my weight loss adventure. Pretty big difference!

Let’s hear what the final statistics are!

Before:
Weight: 167lbs
Bust: 39″
Waist: 33″
Hips: 42″
Thighs: 24″
Dress Size: 12
Pant size: 14

After:
Weight: 145 pounds
Bust: 31″
Waist: 26″
Hips: 34″
Thighs: 21″
Dress Sz: 6
Pants sz: 6

Total Loss:
– 21.8 pounds
– 8″ off bust
– 7″ off waist
– 8″ off hips
– Down 4 pants sizes
– Down 3 dress sizes

Wooo! So, the truth is out, I did not make 140 pounds by April 23rd. The thinner I’ve gotten, the more difficult it is to eat well. 🙂 You let a lot more junk food slide when you don’t hate your reflection. I’m not through yet! I’m sticking with weight watchers until I reach 140. And, of course, I’m totally addicted to working out, so there’s no way I’m going to slack on that. Except for this weekend. It’s easter, and I must eat ham. Back to weights tomorrow.

I’m really proud of the last 17 weeks. I had a goal, and I made some serious strides in accomplishing it. When I started, I couldn’t run at all, and hadn’t lifted weights in almost two years. Now I can run for at least an hour without stopping, and I can run an hours worth of 10 minute miles! When I began weights, I could barely curl 10 pounds. Now I hammer curl 15, bench press (rep) 45, and can leg press 150! Oh and that machine where you squeeze or press your legs? Well over 160 pounds on each machine. 🙂 Not bad for a mother of two who works full time.

There were two people who really helped me get these goals accomplished, and I’d like to say a huge thank you to both of them:

First, Maria, Trainer Maria. What would I have done without you? Your unfailing encouragement, your fast email replies when I needed you, your knowledge and tactics, they were key to me reaching my goals. I loudly shout your name from the hill tops, to anyone who feels like they wish they could just change. Maria, you said the pivotal thing that got me off my post baby butt: “Jennifer, in 12 weeks, you could have a brand new body.” And you were right! I feel better, I’m calmer, I’m happier, I’m a better wife, mom, and woman after working with you. Thanks so much for being there for me. I couldn’t have done it without your nutritional info, your workout routines, your encouragement and your help!

Secondly, but no less importantly, to my husband: Aaron, thanks for hiding the junk food from me. Thanks for loving me through a tough 17 weeks of re-learning how to eat, the craziness of detoxing and remembering how to live without using food as a crutch. Thanks for being proud of every little milestone that I hit. Thanks for all the times you watched the kids so I could hit the gym. Thanks for your love, your support, and your whistles. 🙂 You love me no matter my shape, and your unwavering cheers of encouragement kept me going. I love you as high as I can jump. And I’ve been doing a ton of lunges and squats, and I can jump really freakin’ high.

The big lesson I’ve learned in all of this is, I am responsible for my health. No one but me can stop me from eating crap and get my butt to the gym. It feels way better to drown my stress and whatever in exercise than it does to drown it in junk food. If I want to do something, I really can make it happen. Yes, I gave up some luxuries (cupcakes), and some free time (1.5 hours a night 6 nights a week), but it really does work to eat less, and move more. No fancy diets, no hormone injections, no insane pass-out-or-puke workout program that always has you about to be injured. Also, I didn”t have to do it alone. There are great knowledgeable trainers and nutritionists out there who can help, and they are worth what they charge.

Here is basically what I did to lose this weight: For relearning how to eat well: Weight Watchers online. Works super well, and I used both online and the app for my iPhone. For exercise: 300 minutes of cardio a week, usually an hour at a time split between running, the elliptical and the upright bike. Strength training 2 sets of 12 repetitions per exercise, full body weight routine 4-5 nights a week. 6 days at the gym every week.

Now I’m doing 30-45 minutes of cardio and half body strength training 6 nights a week. Half body means I do weights every time I go to the gym, but I alternate arms and legs weight routines. Both routines encompass some sort of core exercise as well. I super set my weights to save time. That means I don’t take breaks between sets, I go straight from, for example, bicep to tricep exercises. I have upped all my weights, and I now do 3 sets of 12-15 reps per exercise. This is to get more tone now that I’ve built all the muscle. I also take two days off a week now.

I feel so much better healthy. It felt just as good to be able to run that 9 minute mile as it did to break the pre-pregnancy weight mark. It’s not about being thin, though thin is definitely a side effect. 🙂 It’s about not having heart disease. It’s about not loathing the way I look, and wondering if I’ll ever look different.

I still have some more to go, but, it’s been a really successful 17 weeks. And of course, if you want to start something like this on your own, let me just tell you:

In 12 weeks, you could have a brand new body. You can totally do it! I’m here for you! If you want help or to know what worked for me, just ask. I had great help. 🙂

This entry was posted in Weight Loss by Jennifer James. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jennifer James

I'm a full time mom who works full time. I'm a painter, a dreamer, and a believer that the most feminist thing you can do is adore your femininity. I say what I think, when it's appropriate for sharing. I write when I feel like I have something to say. I love always.

3 thoughts on “Weight Loss: Week 17, The Final Post

  1. Yay for you! You look amazing!

    Also, you need to write a book. I would totally buy it…well, I would hope that you’d send me a free copy, but I would convince other people to buy it.

    Congrats!

Speak to me...

