6! 6! 6!

No, it’s not the number of the beast. Didn’t you see the punctuation?! It’s something way more awesome: It’s my pants size.

I just bought a size 11 pair of jeans on super clearance in the Nordstroms girl department. I spent most of work on Friday adjusting them to keep them falling off my hips. I know it sounds like backdoor bragging (“I can’t watch American Idol, because I have perfect pitch”) but it’s really not.

It was super annoying that my stupid pants kept falling off. Friday night we went out and hit a couple of stores, including the Gap, which is home to my favorite cut of regular type (see: not skinny jeans) jeans, the Long and Lean cut. Knowing I was smaller than a ten, I grabbed two pairs of size 8’s and hit the dressing room.

I tried them on, and they fit. I heaved a sigh because they were so baggy in the butt and legs, but comfie in the waist. As I loudly discussed this with Aaron who was waiting outside the dressing room, the sales guy said, “You know, jeans do break in and loosen up quite a bit. You might just need to drop down another size?” Another size? I thought. NO way. That’s a 6! There is no way I’m a six. I haven’t been a six since I walked down the aisle 5 years and two kids ago!

Aaron wandered behind me playing Words With Friends on his phone while I searched out a size 6 in a color I liked. Back to the dressing room, I stood and put a leg in, waiting for the tell tale moment where the jeans grip your thigh and you realize you’ll never get these jeans over your butt.

Then, next thing I knew, I was buttoning them. Comfortably. No jumping up and down, no sucking in. I was in a size six pair of jeans.

It was everything I could do not to holler joyfully. Instead I silently jumped up and down whilst flapping my arms with joy, then snapped this picture.

That red streak you see on my cheek is the birthmark that lights up when I get really excited. And jump around. Silently. In public. In size six jeans.

Being back in a 6 was one of my ultimate weight loss goals. At 5’9″, that’s a healthy weight and size I’m really happy with. I called all my female relatives. Well, my sister and mom. Now I’m shouting it from the interweb roof tops, because I never ever thought it would happen.

Move more, eat less, getting Fit works!

This entry was posted in Misc by Jennifer James. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jennifer James

I'm a full time mom who works full time. I'm a painter, a dreamer, and a believer that the most feminist thing you can do is adore your femininity. I say what I think, when it's appropriate for sharing. I write when I feel like I have something to say. I love always.

2 thoughts on “6! 6! 6!

Speak to me...

