Weight Loss: Week 14

Pictures, oh pleasant memories of flub.

Week one: 167 pounds of me

Current Week: Week 14 147.2lbs

And now, some stats!

Pounds lost this week: 2.6
Pounds lost total: 19.8
Weeks to go until “goal finish date”: 3 (I think I’ve been adding wrong this entire time)
Current weight: 147.2

Oh I tasted the 20 pound mark this week, and it tasted like bite sized snickers. Or m&m’s. I came so close to breaking that 20 pound mile marker! How’s that for mixing weight loss metaphors?

The name of the game this week was getting back on the wagon. I’m happy with what I accomplished! After three weeks of no loss, it felt really good to see the scale go down this week.

In work out land, I upped my reps during strength training, and my weight. Instead of doing just 2 sets of 12 reps on every exercise, I now do 3 sets of 12. I’m hammer curling 15 pounds, bench pressing 40 (I’m a chest press weenie) and leg machine (squats) I can press about 145. The thigh machines (where you either squeeze or press with your legs) I do 160. That always feels awesome, I have shoulders that make weird noises and click at odd times, so I don’t do much shoulder work, but I’d like more defined shoulders, so I’m doing what I can, even if it’s only 5 or 8 pounds and small motions.

Cardio was run run run this week. I ran 3 miles 5 times this week, and usually topped that off with another 30 minutes on the elliptical, set to “Hill, Random” on level 14. I generally aim for 30 minutes or 300 calories, whichever comes last. 🙂 I’m going to start taking two days off from the gym a week, instead of only one. I’ll see next week if I’m still making the progress I’d like to make with just two days off at the gym.

I’m no longer aiming to be at 140 by the 23rd. With Rikers first birthday 3 weeks away, I could make it if I really pushed it hard. And, I may make it, but I don’t want to push too hard and injure myself, so I’m giving myself permission to let the date pass. 2.4 pounds a week for the next 3 weeks is do-able, but I’d be totally gassed by the end of it. I’m incredibly goal oriented, and it’s a bit too much to lose 7.2 pounds in 2-3 weeks, at my stage of the game. We shall see what I’m at on Riker’s first birthday. One way or another, I’m really excited by the progress I’ve made.

I nursed my little guy for the last time this weekend, and it was a bittersweet moment for me. He nuzzled, and hung out for about five minutes. When he launched off my lap and crawled and drank a cup of milk while smiling at me, I knew it was the right time. We’ll see how my body responds to no longer needing to manufacture food. I’ll either drop weight faster (that’s what happened with Caden) or have to be a bit more conscious not to snack “just because I’m nursing.”

It got hot here this weekend, and it felt nice to put on a cute spring dress (size medium, from Forever 21 no less) and not worry that some part of me was jiggling or whether or not a fat roll was showing through the fabric. Yeah my stomach is not rock hard yet. Yes, I’ll always have stretch marks. I look healthy though. It’s been really hard work and a lot of time spent getting to 147, but when I look in the mirror and realize I am actually achieving a goal I set, it feels really great.

Can’t help but wonder if I’ll make 140 in 3 weeks. Slow and steady, people. Slow and steady wins the race.

This entry was posted in Weight Loss by Jennifer James. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jennifer James

I'm a full time mom who works full time. I'm a painter, a dreamer, and a believer that the most feminist thing you can do is adore your femininity. I say what I think, when it's appropriate for sharing. I write when I feel like I have something to say. I love always.

One thought on “Weight Loss: Week 14

  1. here i am again, coming back for inspiration… and you’ve not dissapointed! good going girl! question; how long does it take(or, rather, what’s the shortest time) to shrink the post partum belly? that fat just cant go away fast enough for me, though i am seeing changes…more noticable strech marks for one;(

Speak to me...

