Flood.

Our carpet is wet. Our carpet smells like broccoli. Our carpet is coming OUT.

Like most midwestern houses, we have a basement. Ours is fully finished, carpeting, dry wall, and it’s where we spend most of our hang out time. Our tv’s are down there, and so is my art studio. As well as, that is where Michael’s room is located.

Last year we had a huge rain storm, and the basement flooded. We sucked the water out with a shop vac, and bought a dehumidifier. Cut to this year, where it again flooded, but much worse this time. No walls were wet, and the furniture was ok, but the carpet was so saturated that water was sitting on top of it. ew ew ew ew ick.

After a professional cleaning and de-mold-spraying, it’s still damp, and oh my gosh, The Smell. It smells like a diaper full of brocolli that we found on the beach, and then microwaved. Our landlord, who is AMAZING, by the way, has been helpful, on the ball and so accomodating. Basically what it comes down to is, we can wait a week and maybe have some pro’s do it, or we can just do it ourselves.

That carpet is coming OUT. And soon! I think tomorrow, between hair cuts (Aaron) and a massage and trip to the gym (me) we shall be ripping out some serious carpeting. We asked Michael if he’d be home to help, and all of the sudden Michael got super vague about when he was to work. Hm.

One way or another it’s going to be accomplished pronto, and if you feel like helping with the kids or helping us rip it out, shout my way, because we could use any extra hands. Especially if those extra hands own box knives and crow bars. I put a call out on facebook and didn’t hear anything. I can’t imagine this is the way anyone wants to spend a Saturday afternoon, but we could sure use the help around noon Saturday, if you’re free.

EW.

This entry was posted in Misc by Jennifer James. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jennifer James

I'm a full time mom who works full time. I'm a painter, a dreamer, and a believer that the most feminist thing you can do is adore your femininity. I say what I think, when it's appropriate for sharing. I write when I feel like I have something to say. I love always.

One thought on “Flood.

  1. Regarding you and the sun: I am picturing you on the Nash balcony reading a book all propped up on your ridiculously large pillow. Lynn is next to you. I am studying chemistry.
    Way to go! You look great – and you give me inspiration to get up and move!

Speak to me...

