Monday Came So Soon

This Monday, Aaron and I are switching jobs. No, I’m not going to work at Harmar, building seats, but I am going back to work. Aaron will be the full time stay at home dad. Cleaning, cooking, caring for kids. He’s really jazzed about it, and I’m excited to be headed back to the corporate world. It’s bittersweet though, because I’ve been the stay at home mom for over two years, and now I’ll be the working mom.

The boys are going to do great with Aaron. He’s a wonderful father, but some part of me, the mom part, says “No! I’m the best at this!” Really Aaron is a fantastic dad. I don’t brag on him too much publicly, because it would depress other people. 🙂 He gives them attention, plays with them, gets up with them in the middle of the night, hugs them when they vomit, the works, Baths, meals, he does it all and he does it so well. I’m excited to give him a chance to experience being home with them more. We each have iphone 4’s, so this will be a good chance to give Facetime a serious run for it’s techonological money.

I’m also excited to go back to my old job. I will be working in the IT department of a national company, who’s headquarters are up in North Kansas City. I will never be mentioning them by name on the internet, not to be secretive, but because I take my job very seriously and want to keep it protected on the interwebs. Ask me in person.

I know what this job is like, but I don’t know what it’s going to be like to leave the boys at home and go do it. I’m excited, and trepidatious. I can’t help but feel guilt at leaving them home and going to work. I love working, but I’m their mom, you know?

Today is my last day as a stay at home mom, and I’m nervous and excited. I’m spoiling the boys with snacks on the couch and a new season of Sesame Street and Chik-Fil-A for dinner. I keep hugging them. A lot. It’s irritating Caden.

I’m going to print pictures of them for my desk this weekend, and find some magnets. I bought some art stuff to keep at work, and I’ll be packing healthy snacks and old gym shoes for lunchtime walks. I still have my library card for the library that’s about a 10 minute walk from my office.

Going back to work was a nice excuse to buy some shoes. For a while there Aaron and I were getting ebay packages that were shoes, camera, shoes, film, shoes…. Our ebay history is hilarious.

Oh, my heart.

This entry was posted in Misc by Jennifer James. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jennifer James

I'm a full time mom who works full time. I'm a painter, a dreamer, and a believer that the most feminist thing you can do is adore your femininity. I say what I think, when it's appropriate for sharing. I write when I feel like I have something to say. I love always.

2 thoughts on “Monday Came So Soon

  1. Hadn’t read your blog in a while. You look FANTASTIC!!! Inspiring me to keep working out. 🙂 I’ll be praying for you as you go back to work!

Speak to me...

