My Mom and Elle.

My mom, at the top, loves the movie Legally Blonde. Wait, before you scoff, hear me out on why.

She loves Elle Woods. Not for her pink outfits, or her small canine, or even for her very perfectly highlighted hair. My mom loves Elle Woods for the same reason everyone loves my mom.

They are both unfailingly kind.

Yes it’s a silly movie, and my mom is well aware of that. But, if you were to ask my mom why she likes it, she’d tell you this: It’s because that no matter how mean people are to her, Elle always has a kind thing to say or do towards her fellow human beings. My mom is just like that. Unfailingly kind, and optimistic, and practical in the midst of it.

No one is perfect, true. The people I (and my mom) admire are those who, at their hearts, are kind. We all have bad days, we all get a little cranky when we’re tricked into dressing up for a party that is not a costume party.

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about how my basic nature is to be cynical, and snarky. I’m not such a big fan of that. I’d like to be like my mom, and like Elle Woods, and even in my sleep deprived state, have a kind word and a listening ear for others. My mom is always patient, and kind and gentle with people, even in her tough love moments. I want to be more like that.

I wouldn’t mind having my blonde hair back either.

This entry was posted in Misc by Jennifer James. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jennifer James

I'm a full time mom who works full time. I'm a painter, a dreamer, and a believer that the most feminist thing you can do is adore your femininity. I say what I think, when it's appropriate for sharing. I write when I feel like I have something to say. I love always.

One thought on “My Mom and Elle.

  1. That’s really cool! I think that’s an admirable goal. I do think that a love for Christ can help make loving others easier. It’s a long transformative process, but I do think He can work in your heart that way.

Speak to me...

