I am Sincerely Offended

I understand that birth control is to keep people from having children, for various reasons, “we’re waiting til we have more money. We’re waiting until we finish school”. I get it. But this video took it way too far. I saw this video, sans sound, whilst ironically running my post pregnancy a$$ off at the gym today. Just watch it, and then you can view my very vitriolic opinion after the jump.

Please note: It’s not gross or scary. Just incredibly condescending, misogynistic, and stereotypical.

As a woman who has had two children, (and had them at a young age), I am highly offended by this video. I am offended by the implication that by not using birth control, and subsequently having children, I have somehow missed out on the finer things of life. Graduate degrees, trips to Paris, multiple partners who play guitar and wear fedora’s. Shirt dresses.

If I knew the ad agency that created this piece of misogynistic crap, I’d walk into their board room, and slap each one of them in the face. What is this, 1960?

It’s true, I haven’t been to Paris. I haven’t had a picnic in a waterfall lately. I don’t have a graduate degree. My life is not ‘missing’ anything. I pursue my dreams, I paint every day, and work out as often as I like. I have romance in my life. I have adventure. Thanks to my own motivation to not be an idiot, I study topics that interest me, like painting, and food and classical literature, in the free time I have in my day. I’m married to a wonderful man who encourages me, and sacrifices his time and energy to let me pursue any and all of my dreams.

Graduate degrees don’t keep you warm at night, honey. And I bet my husband is a lot more fun at parties.

I am not out at bars. I am not in clubs. I do not pole dance (though I suppose I could if I wanted to…) I am not on the red eye to Europe. That does not mean I am not free, and I object strenuously to the implication that children are a weight around my neck, the reasons that I can’t have it all and that birth control is the magic pill to make my life rosy and restful and wonderful.

I do have it all. I’m doing the one thing only women can do: I’m having and then, weirdly enough, raising my own children. While it would be nice to have a tad more sleep, or maybe a few more date nights, I wouldn’t trade one moment with my kids for all the waterfall related picnics in the world.

I just can’t say enough how fast this video put my knickers in a twist. I feel sorry for anyone that falls for this clearly skewed view of what it means to be a successful woman.

Shoot. Makes me want to go out and get pregnant again, put on my shirt dress, grab a cute bag, and give that ad agency the finger.

This entry was posted in Misc by Jennifer James. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jennifer James

I'm a full time mom who works full time. I'm a painter, a dreamer, and a believer that the most feminist thing you can do is adore your femininity. I say what I think, when it's appropriate for sharing. I write when I feel like I have something to say. I love always.

8 thoughts on “I am Sincerely Offended

  1. I thought it was a pretty clear depiction of how our society views motherhood. Women now have all sorts of choices opened up to them and it’s sad that child-rearing obviously is not classified as a favorable choice. (notice how a woman chose one of all the different options – except the stork). What it doesn’t show is what women are missing out of. I think women will choose the graduate degree, the trip to paris, the new house – and realize later how cold and empty their life is without children. Sadly, women realize this too late… when they are nearing 40 and wishing and wanting a child more than anything. or more than one.
    But aren’t you glad you won’t have that problem?… I feel sorry for women like that.

  2. I think that there are some women who clear-mindedly choose to focus on things in their lives other than motherhood. I don’t want to look down my nose at them. And I applaud them for making that choice just as much as I applaud a woman for choosing to have children. Personally, I am glad I am a mother, and wouldn’t pick anything else.

    The issue I take with this commercial is the implication that choosing motherhood is the lesser choice, nay, even the wrong choice. That you can’t be cute or happy or traveled without something stopping your body from it’s best biological abilities. Ick.

  3. I don’t think it’s worse. It at least seems to be pandering to women’s “intelligence” in being able to figure things out by studying them.

    I like the sign in the birth control lab that says “gloves required.”
    ewie.

  4. It took me two days before I could calm myself down enough to write a comment about this issue. Not because this particular company is evil but because the propaganda it is spreading is more demeaning to women than they could possibly imagine. It’s a narrow-minded campaign that was probably written by a 20-something who watches WAY too much Sex in the City.

    Yuck and double yuck.

  5. I haven’t viewed the video yet, but I have to agree with the way that motherhood is portrayed today. I am 46 years old now with a 27 year old daughter and a 21 year old daughter.

    I was “discovered” at age 19 by a modeling agency and invited to go to NYC for a few months, then Germany, Japan, and then Paris. Well, I had my first daughter at the ripe old age of 18 as I had married my husband when I was 16 years old.

    After 3 months in NYC and faced with going to Germany next without my daughter (and husband), I said “good-bye” to modeling and possible fame and fortune and “hi again” to motherhood. I have to tell you that I have NOT regretted that decision even one little iota over the years!!!

    The glitz and gloss of the “glamorous” life is NOTHING compared to the joys of being a mommy and a wife. I thank God that He gave me a husband and parents who were supportive in whatever I wanted to do . . . whether to travel abroad or to come back home . . . but most of all I thank God for helping me make the right decision.

Speak to me...

