Vegetate

Sometimes I find it odd in the ways that I feel compelled to “recharge.” After a lot of thinking, I want to not think, so I watch tv whilst playing a game on my phone and (formerly) eating some sort of snack.

Too much working out, and I want to sit still, so I sit on the couch or lay on the floor.

When was the first person bored for the first time?

The funny thing is, wanting to sit and not think is the perfect set up to sit and pray, but praying feels like doing something, so I choose to sit and let pictures pass over my retina’s instead. I should probably rethink that strategy, to an extent.

Frankly, I’m just happy that I seem to have broken the “eat when I’m bored” habit. Not that I often have time to be bored. It’s more like stress-overwhelmed. You’ve been there: You find yourself with so much going on and/or so much to do that your brain just shuts down. That’s when I usually start stuffing food in my face. I’m working really hard on it, and being accountable in my little weight watchers app on my phone helps shut that down almost totally.

The funny thing is, given the choice to be solitary and house-bound, or active and out, I’d choose the option for activity. While I do enjoy quiet time, I almost never would choose to be alone in that quiet time. I don’t necessarily need a running conversation, or constant action, but I like having other people around. Luckily I have children who are often plastered to me, so that helps. Some of my favorite days are when my best friend Joanna comes over, and we just hang out all day. We know enough about each other and our routines that we just kind of, hang. Maybe we talk. Maybe we read books. Maybe (and highly more likely) we chase children who need diapers/food/love and then we collapse. It’s nice.

With a storm coming on that’s likely to dump a couple of feet of snow on top of a days worth of ice, I find that I shall likely be housebound for a few days. That makes me want to run to the store and grab some staples. Luckily, even if I don’t make it to the store, I have plenty of coffee and milk.

The need to vegetate. Isn’t it odd.

This entry was posted in Misc by Jennifer James. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jennifer James

I'm a full time mom who works full time. I'm a painter, a dreamer, and a believer that the most feminist thing you can do is adore your femininity. I say what I think, when it's appropriate for sharing. I write when I feel like I have something to say. I love always.

One thought on “Vegetate

  1. I think the need to vegetate has a lot to do with the relentless influx of information we saturate our brains with every day. Plus, TV shows, when done well, can occasionally give you even more to think about. Wes and I frequently pause TV shows to discuss moral dilemmas/plots/inconsistencies. He’s not a big talker, so it’s nice to have prompts sometimes!

Speak to me...

