Being Good

I’ve been reading a lot lately about art, art techniques, of which I am woefully ignorant, and people who in general are good at what they do. That could be painting, drawing, singing, being fit, eating well etc.

You know what the one single unifying factor is? That thing that they want to be good at? They do it every single day.

A painter I admire greatly takes sketch books on his train commute, and does 60 second snapshot sketches of his commute. A woman I know who’s incredibly busy gets up at 5 so she can work out before her kids wake up. (Crazy, crazy woman.)

So it seems to me, if you want to be good at something, you should probably try and do it alot. Like, everyday. For me this means sketching and studying during naptime, so I can put focused work into a piece at night. Right now I’m really frustrated with my lack of technical expertise, so I’m working on portraits and color value studies that will probably never be seen on the internet. They aren’t horrible, but wow. I need practice.

Doing well at something is really difficult. It takes a lot more planning and thought to eat well than it does to just eat. It takes serious effort to step away from distractions like my phone and actually draw something. It most definitely takes serious mental willpower to go to the gym instead of sit on the couch and watch Aaron play Call of Duty.

But I want to be good. So I’m going to try and do these things every day, in some way. Some days that may just be a little sketch, or walking away from the m&m’s, or weight lifting my children instead of the weights at the gym. I am going to find a way to be good.

This entry was posted in Misc by Jennifer James. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jennifer James

I'm a full time mom who works full time. I'm a painter, a dreamer, and a believer that the most feminist thing you can do is adore your femininity. I say what I think, when it's appropriate for sharing. I write when I feel like I have something to say. I love always.

2 thoughts on “Being Good

  1. You ARE good, your artwork is gorgeous! I have heard the same thing from writers, that the really good writers write every day. They set word count goals for themselves and write every single day. Good stuff, bad stuff, it doesn’t matter as long as they’re writing writing writing.

Speak to me...

