New Schedule

I am rocking it OUT today! Jesus is so kind to me. The boys woke up really early, Riker at 4:30 and Caden at 6:30. I nursed Riker and plopped him back in his bed, where he fussed and slept about 4 more hours, before spectacularly poo-sploding and waking himself up. Happens to the best of us.

Caden I let stay in his crib until 7:30. I know sleep scheduling is a touchy thing amongst moms, so let me disclaimer with this: This is how I do it. Not how I’m telling you to do it. There, now you can’t be mad.

I’m the boss, and if I say he’s not getting up til 7:30, that’s the way it’s going to be. It doesn’t make him quiet, and it doesn’t make him sleep, but he does hang out very nicely in his crib until 7:30, because I’m the parent and I say so. I used that time to desperately drag myself out of deep sleep, and do important things like take my vitamins and go to the bathroom.

Caden’s not a big breakfast guy, but he does like his juices, so he gets kombucha and then carrot juice then some watered down apple, whilst watching Sesame Street. When Riker gets up, the team has a snack and today, we tried something new!

I took the kids down to the basement, set Riker up with some toys, and let Caden watch Sesame Street on PBS. They played really well and I painted a little! Caden rescued Riker from an approaching beetle/roach, and brought it to me, alive, in his hand. Ew.

After, we came upstairs and played some more, while I did 20 minutes of P90X. They weren’t such a fan of that, and 20 minutes of video took me about 30 minutes to accomplish, what with breaks for juice and tantrums and all that.

Then, some lunch, followed by a round of diaper changes and down for naps! While the kids are down for naps I’ve cleaned the kitchen, slept for 20 minutes, showered, brushed my teeth, changed my clothes, ate lunch, and now, am writing to you. Lovely you. When this is over I’m going to have an orange.

How is all this possible? I can tell you how. It’s not because I’m a naturally awesome mother, or a spectacular planner, or even because I’m super good at this. It’s because Jesus is so kind to me, and He gives me grace and energy in all the right places. And sleep.

This entry was posted in Misc by Jennifer James. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jennifer James

I'm a full time mom who works full time. I'm a painter, a dreamer, and a believer that the most feminist thing you can do is adore your femininity. I say what I think, when it's appropriate for sharing. I write when I feel like I have something to say. I love always.

2 thoughts on “New Schedule

Speak to me...

