When Did Opinions Become Bad?

Disclaimer: I’ve had neither food nor coffee nor vitamins and it’s really early. Promise though, if I seem harsh, it’s the hunger talking.

From where I stand, it’s socially and culturally acceptable for everyone to have opinions except for me. A white female. The only person who is not allowed an opinion even more than I am not allowed an opinion is my husband. White. Male. Oh and then throw the Christian thing in there and we might as well sit in the corner and play with blocks the rest of our lives.

What the crap, world?

This stems from a post my friend Erika wrote, which brought forward some really typical angry responses, about how she wasn’t supporting the gay community, about how she was making a big deal about nothing blah blah blah. She wrote back in a very understanding and respectful way to her commenters. But basically it comes down to this: Unless you are a perceived minority group (gay, another race) you are not allowed to have an opinion without being “hateful/racist/bigoted” etc. Erika was very respectful in her tone and explanations, yet she still got all kinds of anti-christian flack thrown up at her proverbial fighter jet.

All she did was give her opinion. Yikes, World. When did opinions become a bad thing to have? Here’s my brief letter to the world:

Dear World,

I’m really sorry that some hateful Christians have made things rough for you. Picketed your events, looked down on you at social gatherings etc. Not all of us are like that. Some of us are able to actually disagree with your stance on life, your thoughts or creeds etc without actually hating you as a person. My God loved everyone. Prostitutes, men who took money from people when they probably didn’t have a lot to give, alcoholics. But, my God also said some things were wrong to do: killing, stealing… the whole list is in the Book. That book also has this great verse: We have all sinned and fallen short of the glory of God. SO I probably shouldn’t be standing on a soapbox and telling you how you are wrong, because I’ve done some wrong stuff too.

That doesn’t mean I can’t have my own opinion. That doesn’t mean I can’t tell you how I live my life. Please stop interpreting my opinions as hatred directed toward you. Because I don’t hate you. I think you’re probably a bunch of awesome people, with a sin nature, like we all have. I bet we even agree on some stuff.

Mostly, don’t pick on my friends because they have opinions. You’re just perpetrating the same bigotry towards us as we are perceived as perpetrating towards you.

Sincerely,
Me.

This entry was posted in Misc by Jennifer James. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jennifer James

I'm a full time mom who works full time. I'm a painter, a dreamer, and a believer that the most feminist thing you can do is adore your femininity. I say what I think, when it's appropriate for sharing. I write when I feel like I have something to say. I love always.

4 thoughts on “When Did Opinions Become Bad?

  1. Aw Jen, this is awesome! It’s so true! It really is unfortunate that some of the loudest Christians are also some of the most hateful, and while I don’t appreciate the antipathy, I can understand it to an extent. It’s just sad that all Christians are lumped into the same group without being given the benefit of the doubt.

  2. WORD. Ever noticed in high school that (While it was a huge no-no to mock Muslims, Jews, Blacks etc) Christians got made fun of constantly? And by teachers!
    Not ok.
    Thanks for your letter. I agree.
    Love,
    Meghan

  3. A-STINKING-MEN!

    I feel avoided by people lately because they know I am a Christian, and downright hostility from others. I’m not like most the Christians they know. I hate being thrown in the judgement pot with them. Thanks for making me feel less alone in this.

    Love, Shelley

Speak to me...

