Facebook Hurts My Feelings

I’m so tender-feeling-ed lately. I get my feelings hurt really easily these last few months. Mostly because the Lord is doing some real generational healing in my family in relationship-areas, so I just feel vulnerable.

Facebook has been an especially tough place. I love the connectedness of social networking. It helps a stay at home mom feel connected to the community around me. It allows me to see how friends back home in Seattle, or in New York, are doing today. It helps me stay connected with my family. However I think there is an intrinsic flaw in a place like facebook.

It allows us to just word-vomit into the ether. I’ll take ownership and admit it, I’ve done it myself, and I repent of that fact. In moments of frustration or tiredness or at that third feeding in the middle of the night, it allows me to basically take an emotional poo, and post it for all to see. It might be a feeling, or a frustration at something someone said, or just something a little mean, and I can just put it out there, because I don’t have to watch anyone read it and get upset, or have hurt feelings. Even the “tone” in which I write something might be just a tad barbed, or impatient.

Yikes.

Not to stand on a soap box and preach about being nice, but just to say that lately, facebook is hurting my feelings. Let’s face it, we all have crabby days, and sometimes you need to sit down and vent with a good friend. Sit down and vent to them, not out into the internet for all to see, because who is that helping? I’m not going to sit and implore you to watch what you write, because frankly what you write and what’s in your heart aren’t really my deal. I’m just here to say that my tender feelings have made me realize that wow, words are pretty powerful, especially posted out there for all to see.

I believe that the words I speak generate a spiritual atmosphere around me, and that atmosphere effects other people. I’m going to be more mindful of voicing and writing the positive, the things I’m thankful for, the good. Because holy crap, I don’t want to wake up one day and realize that while I really wanted people around me, the atmosphere I was generating with my words (and heart-stance) was actually pushing people away. Double yikes.

I want my life to be a place where people feel welcome. Because you are. I like you. I’m thankful for you.

The strong willed are usually the most tenderhearted. I want to use my words for good, not evil.

This entry was posted in Misc by Jennifer James. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jennifer James

I'm a full time mom who works full time. I'm a painter, a dreamer, and a believer that the most feminist thing you can do is adore your femininity. I say what I think, when it's appropriate for sharing. I write when I feel like I have something to say. I love always.

5 thoughts on “Facebook Hurts My Feelings

  1. That’s right friend. Way to go. Our words bring life or death, and we all want to bring life to each other for reals!:) love you

  2. Well written! I decided a long time ago that Facebook and my blog were going to be places where I tried to brighten people’s days, make things suck just a little bit less. As a result, I’m maybe not as honest and soul-baring as I could be, but that’s the price you pay for setting a tone and sticking to it.

    Your decision to change the tone of your posts inspires me, keep up the good work!

  3. As for me, I am logging out for good. For 101 reasons which I am only applying to me. I’m sure that occasional blog-stalking is not out of the question though ;o)

Speak to me...

