To Boldy Go…

…where no Jennifer has gone before!

I recently fell madly in love with Lucky Brand floral sweats and graphic tees. They have the most gorgeous patterns on their clothes, and I WANT. Too bad for me, because they run upwards of 70 bucks. For sweats. My thrifty friend Jessica is having a heart attack right now. But look how pretty!

So I drooled, I looked on ebay, where I was aghast to find they run no cheaper. Stupid Lucky Brand Consumers know what they are selling, I guess. Which is really annoying because the fun of ebay is buying stuff for stupid cheap because people don’t reeeeally know what stuff is worth, and you get to bid on stuff for 99 cents.

As I drooled, I thought to myself, “These sweats are so pretty. These designs almost look hand painted.”

GIANT LIGHT BULB NOW GOES OFF OVER MY HEAD.

“Wait! I’m a painter! I paint stuff, and I don’t suck at it! I bet I could do this! Interwebs, AWAY!!! ENGAGE!!!”

I jumped on google on my phone (God, bless my iphone) and found that there is actually a bottle of stuff I can buy that will turn my normal acrylic paints into fabric paint! Sweet! I have a ton of acrylic paints, being a painter and all, and I can use my normal paint brushes! SWEEEET. All I have to buy is some cheap stuff to practice on, like thrift store tees and some plain onesies, and I’m in business. I plan to work my way up to hand painting some really awesome sweats.

Because you want to know a secret? I am a good painter. I may not have my sisters’ skill, but she has more money for supplies and more time to practice. Plus she’s better than me. While I am a good painter, I am an EXCELLENT copyist. All I need is some close up shots of those incredibly expensive lucky brand tshirts and sweats, and I’m pretty sure I can remake very accurately their designs. For like, 2 dollars. All I need to do is find out iron and ironing board, and remember how to iron. (Some websites suggest you heat seal your painted fabric in your oven. For a mom with two toddlers, I think that would be a disaster. Ironing it is.)

Plus, I can make the boys some kick butt onesies and little tshirts, with all the fun designs I like but can’t find in stores.

This could be disastrous, but I’m so excited to try it out.

This entry was posted in Misc by Jennifer James. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jennifer James

I'm a full time mom who works full time. I'm a painter, a dreamer, and a believer that the most feminist thing you can do is adore your femininity. I say what I think, when it's appropriate for sharing. I write when I feel like I have something to say. I love always.

8 thoughts on “To Boldy Go…

  1. And also after you heat seal with an iron, you can throw them in the dryer for extra heat. That helps too.

    I also have some great glass paints if you ever want to come have fun and paint on glass.

  2. Love these sweats.
    I’m so excited to see how all this unfolds…
    But, if I may be your Mom for a moment…..let your imagination go! You are very creative and don’t need to copy, let what the Lord has given you come forth…. 🙂

  3. Annie- I do all sorts of work on commission. Just ask, and I’ll tell you a)if I am good enough b) what it will cost you.

    I also negotiate and or barter. I would sell you sweats or art for babysitting. 🙂

Speak to me...

