Just Me.

First off, Here is a bonus pic of my adorable kids. Caden is trying to read to Riker. So cute.

Speaking of being a mom to some adorable kids…

My friend Danielle posted a great blog post she read about being the perfect mom. You know you’ve thought it. “If only I did crafts, or had a clean house all the time, or never had a pile of laundry laying around, and my kids were dressed and fed and out the door on time… I’d be the perfect mom.”

Balderdash. I was laying on the couch today, desperately trying to catch five minutes of sleep. (Ironically, that’s about what I got..)

I was up a lot last night with a hungry baby who is really ready to be in his own room. Then, today, the baby would only sleep if I held him, which meant no break for me, which makes me crazy. So, there I was, on the couch, praying things like “please God, make them sleep so I can sleep and be a kinder, gentler human being,” when it occured to me that sometimes I have unrealistic expectations for myself.

I generally set small goals, like be showered by the time Aaron gets home, or unload the dishwasher by lunch. Nothing fancy, nothing extravagant. I am not churning out baked goods or researching games to help my child learn the alphabet. I’m plunking him down in front of sesame street with my coffee in hand, trying to get my heart started at 6am.

But you know what? It doesn’t always happen like I want, and that’s ok. Are my kids fed, clean, and loved? Definitely!

I may not be helping Caden build epic forts before the sun is up, but I’m hanging out with him on the couch watching Elmo with my arm around him.

Am I fed, cleaned and loved? Well, I’m loved. And grabbing a snack. That’s my recipe for success right now. It’s not fancy but it’s working out.

I’m going to set some little goals for myself, and I’ll let you know how it goes. Here’s some examples of things I would feel good about, were they to get accomplished:
– Paint every day
– Blog at least 5 days a week
– Make 4/7 dinners in a week.
– Get the stupid backyard weeded, because it’s starting to look like the set of “Predator” out there.

See, nothing fancy.

Let’s not be so hard on ourselves. We’re doing pretty great.

Check out the blog post I’m referring to here.

This entry was posted in Misc by Jennifer James. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jennifer James

I'm a full time mom who works full time. I'm a painter, a dreamer, and a believer that the most feminist thing you can do is adore your femininity. I say what I think, when it's appropriate for sharing. I write when I feel like I have something to say. I love always.

2 thoughts on “Just Me.

  1. i practice “benevolent neglect” (made it up myself)… basically, I am present, right in the middle of whatever they’re doing, but not necessarily doing what they are. Now, at 3 and 4, the little ones are really independent, and imaginative, and secure.

    and Toby taught himself to read largely because of Sesame Street.

    Carry on!

Speak to me...

