Just Not Right.

It’s been an emotional week/series of long days/life here at justeastofwest recently. Combine sleep deprivation with children that cry for no reason even though you’ve FED them and CHANGED them and they JUST burped, and you’ve got a recipe for everything becoming a Very Big Deal.

Then we had Mexican food. What’s wrong with Mexican food? Nothing. So what’s my deal? I’ll tell you. There we were, happily sitting down with Joanna and Tyler, munching chips and guacamole and listening to Caden tear apart watermelon and It Happened. Aaron flounced down (in a very manly way) from the shower, smelling like Old Spice, and sat down to join us. Joanna furrowed her brow, looked at him, and went back to eating, apparently dismissing whatever had puzzled her.

I sat back when the meal was almost done (and can I put away some soft shelled tacos), and looked at Aaron. Then the horror dawned, like ice water down my back, the humiliation dripping down the top of my scalp like broken egg.

He was wearing my tshirt. WORSE: It’s a shirt that’s too small for me, and it fit him so well he didn’t notice it was MINE, not his. Even WORSE? That shirt is too small for me right now.

My 6’2″ husband was comfortably wearing one of my pre-pregnancy “comfie” shirts, that I can’t get into, and he hadn’t even noticed. What did I do in response?

I burst into tears and ran upstairs like a 13 year old girl with her first PMS. I cried in the bathroom til my face got all blotchy.

I have to lose this baby weight, and I have to lose it now.

I hope to blog more later, but I hear Oldest Child loudly demanding a clean diaper and breakfast.

This entry was posted in Misc by Jennifer James. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jennifer James

I'm a full time mom who works full time. I'm a painter, a dreamer, and a believer that the most feminist thing you can do is adore your femininity. I say what I think, when it's appropriate for sharing. I write when I feel like I have something to say. I love always.

5 thoughts on “Just Not Right.

  1. I will be easy on myself when I’m thin again. I told Aaron (mostly jokingly), “I want to be so skinny people worry about me and bring me sandwiches.”

    I used to weigh 127. I remember.

  2. I just want you to know I’m for you, and I’m your friend, and I know how frustrating it is to have extra weight. I also know you can do this, and you are awesome, and I love you, and I’m for you. 🙂

  3. I’m sorry but I had to laugh, Aaron is priceless. I know what it’s like to have that baby weight, I never lost it all the first time around. I’m still putting off going through old clothes that I’ll probably never fit into again. I’ll be praying for you!

  4. Awww, I’m so sorry! What a bummer! Tell Aaron to stick to his own shirts!

    If it makes you feel any better, if I let my stomach hang out it still looks like it could comfortably house a 3 lb fetus.

    Take it easy on yourself, you just produced a whole ‘nother person! You’re a beautiful, excellent mama, and that weight will come off, don’t you worry!

Speak to me...

