Day off?

Today was Aaron’s day off. Here is what we did:

– Woke up. Aaron did the early shift, and I got to sleep in until almost 8:30. And I didn’t wake up to pee at all last night. These are miracles.
– Made coffee. Aaron needs a french press just to start his heart in the morning. That gives him energy to go out and get proper coffee, or eat some breakfast.
– Aaron got dressed and went out to help out best friends finish moving. Yes, they stole our moving thunder by moving a week before us. We shall regain said thunder with the fact that we have SO MUCH more to move, and we will bribe you with Italian Food to get you to help.

– I did not get dressed, though I did put on a cardigan over my pajamas.

– I spent the morning trying to pry myself off the couch. Some days the 3rd trimester is not as kind to me as other days.

– Caden screeched and danced around. Pretty much alternately, all day.

– Lunch for all.

– Hours of packing and trying to keep Caden from locking himself in the bathroom. Aaron discovered he had shoved WAY more stuff under the spare bed than he thought he had. I packed boxes of clothes, and bags of hangers, and other random things I hope we have space for when we get to the new house.

– I cleaned the ceiling fan, contemplated what oven cleaner would be best to buy so someone else can clean my oven (cleaners are way too toxic for pregnant Jennifer), and vacuumed up stray dust bunnies.

– Dinner for all, of mismatched leftovers and whatever we could spread on some bread. I didn’t have the energy to cook a thing. Microwaves are my friends.

– We watched part of the sequel to Space Odyssey, and it felt like an eternity. That has to be the longest movie ever made. OR at least, it felt like it.

– Bath for Caden. New jammies for Caden. Vicks Vapo Rub for Congested Caden. Milk for Caden. Graham Cracker for Caden. Paci and Cozy and Sleep for Caden.

That brings us up to the present, where Aaron is sitting on the phone with his father, watching the same basketball game, and I am writing this update that is hellishly composed, but all I have energy to write. I believe I shall now collapse into a hot bath with Epsom salts, and a very large book, until my fingertips and toe-tips look like pink cooked baby shrimps.

These days off with Aaron always go so fast. TWO goals for tomorrow: take a shower and leave the house.

This entry was posted in Misc by Jennifer James. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jennifer James

I'm a full time mom who works full time. I'm a painter, a dreamer, and a believer that the most feminist thing you can do is adore your femininity. I say what I think, when it's appropriate for sharing. I write when I feel like I have something to say. I love always.

2 thoughts on “Day off?

Speak to me...

