Midwives Rock.

My midwives are super cool. I just love them both. I had my first prenatal appointment in a while today, so I was going through “hang out with your midwives” withdrawal. Luckily for me, they had a mom with a slow labor in Grandview, so they came to MY house, instead of me driving to Shawnee to Amber’s house like usual. I only wish I’d had time to make Amber some spelt noodles. It’s an inside joke. Amber and her family eat very organic/naturally, and I always joke that I “eat well, but not AMBER-well, because I don’t like spelt noodles”.

Seriously folks, I can’t proclaim the virtues of midwives enough. They always take time to listen to me, even if I am saying the same thing over and over again, which is “I’m kinda freaked out about this a little bit.” And they always have something positive and encouraging to say, they never rush me (even though, Lord knows I can talk) and they are unfailingly my cheerleaders. I feel so confident and relaxed after a visit with them.

Today we had hummus and multigrain chips and talked about water-birth supplies (good to have on hand if I decide I want a waterbirth), and what I need to purchase and have around for labor. It’s not a long list, but it does include something tarp-like, a crock pot, and a garden hose that’s never been used. It’s a bit like a scavenger hunt! I jest a bit, those are really supplies for filling the birth-tub, if I decide I want to water-birth, like a mermaid. Again, I jest. If you’ve never heard of waterbirth, just google it, it’s pretty cool if you’re into birth-stuff.

We listened to the baby, and now that he’s bigger I can actually hear his heartbeat thru the fetascope! It’s super cool. Anita, at my request, checked his position, because I can’t tell what’s poking me where. Well, I know WHERE he’s poking me, but I can’t tell what he’s using. Turns out he’s head down, which is GOOD. Head down = Awesome. Way to go little Riker!

My blood pressure and pulse are great, my weight isn’t bad, and my baby’s not breech. W00T.

I did take time to ask Anita what would happen if we found out while laboring that he WAS breech. She talked me through some scenarios, and I feel a lot more calm about it. Ultimately she pointed out I’m scared that birthing Riker will happen the same way birthing Caden did, and so I’m running through disaster scenarios in my mind. She’s totally right. I told her that I am literally going to bed at night visualizing easy labor, and healthy delivery, and praying over the WHOLE shindig. We all agree prayer is the right, and best, way to go!

All in all, I’m feeling really calm and confident about birth. When I see them next I’ll be 34 weeks!

Also, I want to put it out there that if you are thinking of having a midwife instead of a dr. or have questions, totally feel free to ask me anything. If you ask a super private question, I’ll just email you the response. I want more women to have this option of midwifery, and the information!

This entry was posted in Misc by Jennifer James. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jennifer James

I'm a full time mom who works full time. I'm a painter, a dreamer, and a believer that the most feminist thing you can do is adore your femininity. I say what I think, when it's appropriate for sharing. I write when I feel like I have something to say. I love always.

2 thoughts on “Midwives Rock.

  1. Hi Jennifer!

    I don’t know if you remember me – I’m Aaron’s cousin – came to your wedding with my hubby Eric…. We got married a few months before you guys. Grandpa Bailey told me about your blog, so I came to check it out 🙂

    Anyway, I think it’s the coolest thing that you’re going for a home birth! We’re expecting our first child in June and planning on a home birth ourselves. I really love my midwives too – sooo much better than a doctor’s visit! 😀 I hope your birth and everything goes well!

    Blessngs,
    Bethany

Speak to me...

