Gobble!

We had a very bueno Thanksgiving at the James casa. Aaron kindly let me sleep in, and when I got up I made him some pancakes with the very last of my pancake mix from Seattle. We even gave Caden some bites, and he thinks fake syrup is pretty awesome.

Aaron then skedaddled to get us some coffee, and I watched the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day parade, which to me seemed like they did a lot more commentary and a lot less cool parade performances than in years past. I flipped channels a lot, and always seemed to come back to commercials or sugary sweet talking heads. And it wasn’t windy, which meant no balloons threatened to get loose and rampage over New York. The threat of balloon rampage is usually what keeps me watching.

When the coffee had been consumed, Aaron went down and waged manly battle against our storage locker and it’s recalcitrant door, and brought in the christmas tree, nativity scene and various boxes of decorations. I managed to get it all set up with only one bout of crying (when I realized I only had one strand of proper sized lights and had to redo when I’d done) and one bout of yelling at Aaron (when he tried to plug in the Star Trek ornaments before I’d finished with the lights). It was pretty successful tree set up, considering that when we set up the tree LAST year by the end Aaron had been stabbed in the eye, I had hives and the baby and I were both sobbing. Aw memmmmories!

After putzing around the house for a bit, I got ready and gathered up foods I’d made (pie and casserole) and headed over to Joanna’s mom’s house, to hang with the girls for a bit while the boys stayed behind to play Thanksgiving alien butchering XBOX games. Then we all gathered at the house, consumed a wonderful feast, and went home full and happy. It was a good day!

Today I’m working for a bit, then home to hang with Aaron before he goes to work tonight (closing shift, phooey!).

I am debating remaking an entire Thanksgiving feast at my house, so we have delightful Thanksgiving leftover sandwich fixings. We’ll see.

Gobble!

This entry was posted in Misc by Jennifer James. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jennifer James

I'm a full time mom who works full time. I'm a painter, a dreamer, and a believer that the most feminist thing you can do is adore your femininity. I say what I think, when it's appropriate for sharing. I write when I feel like I have something to say. I love always.

Speak to me...

