The Little Moon

I swear to you, up, right down left and center, that this baby is a girl. The one time I felt her move, she smoothly glided from right to left, like a little moon rising and setting, so that’s her nickname. I could be wrong about her being a girl, but I will refer to the unborn fetus as “she” until medical science proves me wrong.

I had a great pre-natal appointment today with my midwives, Anita (the midwife) and Amber (the apprentice midwife). I love these two women like cats love cream. I will also forewarn you, as I tell you about my day, that I am incredibly biased towards midwifery because our experience with a doctor was so awful. Doctors are necessary and save lives, but I want them out of my uterus until something is actually wrong. I am pregnant, not sick. So, I love doctors, we need them around, lots of women couldn’t have or deliver healthy babies without them! But I don’t want them at my healthy normal pregnancy and birth. Disclaimer issued? Good, let’s go!

Instead of seeing the doctor for 5 minutes, I got to spend almost 2 hours talking with Anita and Amber about how I’m feeling, more of my medical history, how Caden was doing, how I’m feeling about birth etc. We did a lot of extra stuff, a normal appointment is an hour. We needed to type Aaron’s blood, to see if I need rhogam, and I don’t! We chatted about how a c-section due to failure to wait on the doctors behalf does NOT make me high risk, which lifted a lot of fear for me. We talked about better things for me to eat, we chatted about breastfeeding a big baby.

We did the normal doctor stuff as well, peeing in a cup to make sure I’m not leaking protein or sugar into my urine (a warning sign for several bad pregnancy conditions), taking my pulse (she used her IPHONE stop watch to time it!), take my blood pressure, weigh me etc. I’ve only gained 1.5 pounds so far, but since this isn’t my first time at this rodeo, I know that in the end I gain 3 or 4 pounds a week, so it’s GOOD I haven’t started porking up yet.

Normally my midwife doesn’t worry about hearing a heartbeat until 18 weeks or so, as she uses a fetascope (a fancy stethoscope) instead of a Doppler (the microphone looking thingee), which she feels effects babies, as they often tend to scoot away from them. Amber asked if I wanted to try with the Doppler anyway even though I’m only 14 weeks, and I said “YES!” Amber trucked around with a goop covered microphone, hunting Little Moon’s heartbeat. We heard my heartbeat really well, (go me!), my placenta (don’t ask how you hear a placenta, I don’t know), and finally the Little Moon! Yay! We heard her move a LOT, and hearing her little heart was just as cool as hearing Caden’s for the first time.

Anita also doesn’t normally order “unnecessary” ultrasounds as she, like most midwives, don’t worry about doing things that aren’t medically necessary. That’s why we love midwives = minimal intervention! I explained that Caden’s 22 week ultrasound was the high point of my pregnancy, and I was really looking forward to having that experience again. She actually listened to my feelings and cared about how I felt, and said we could order one for when I was 22 weeks. That’s the kind of caregiver I want. Someone who cares about me enough to LISTEN. I’ll be scheduling an ultrasound for the middle of December and we’ll get our first real look at the Little Moon!

I’m looking forward to second trimester stuff, like more energy and more appetite.

Even better, mom and Meghan are coming this week! I can’t wait to see them. Now I just have to figure out where we are all going to sleep…

I am so blessed to be creating life, God is good.

This entry was posted in Misc by Jennifer James. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jennifer James

I'm a full time mom who works full time. I'm a painter, a dreamer, and a believer that the most feminist thing you can do is adore your femininity. I say what I think, when it's appropriate for sharing. I write when I feel like I have something to say. I love always.

2 thoughts on “The Little Moon

  1. Girl, I am so behind you on your disclaimer. Preach! I’m so happy that you found a midwife that you are happy with. Congratulations!

  2. I sleep anywhere and everywhere. It’s a gift. Can’t wait to see you, Caden, Aaron and “Little Moon”. Love love love!

Speak to me...

