Walking and Talking

Caden has mastered the word “up.” He says it for all kinds of things: to say hi, to ask for a toy, to ask for Puffs (tiny baby snacks) and, last of all, to ask you to pick him up.

He’s also walking all over the place lately. It’s super cute. He’s pretty unsteady and falls a lot, but it’s still a darn faster way to get around. Aaron grabbed his hand to walk down the hall with him, and Caden, with the extra stability of dads’ hand, booked it down the hall. He was so excited and laughing all the way.

He also says dad pretty consistently, but I don’t think he necessarily attaches the name to Aaron. He just uses it for who ever. I can’t get him to say mom to save my life. Ah well, he knows where the food comes from.

Last night Aaron and I went out on a date as it was the only night our babysitters were free, and I ate food that almost tasted good. We went to On the Border, where I ate a lot of chips and salsa. Then we went to Target and bought our tiny little boy (who is not tiny at all) a bigger forward facing car seat. I’m pretty excited about it. Then I cried, because my baby is getting so tall, and walking, (mostly away from me) and I don’t know how this year went so fast.

We even got to go to Barnes and Noble, then to a movie. We saw The Invention of Lying. It was pretty good. A tad long, but I love Jennifer Garner and Ricky Gervais, and it was a pretty decent flick. I ate a ton of popcorn.

Oh it was so gross though, the people behind me were drinking BEER IN THE THEATRE! It smelled so bad. I wanted to yell at them. Aaron suggested we move, but I was there first and I liked my seat! I just breathed through my sleeve and shoved Buncha Crunch into my face, and it was ok. But, honestly, who brings beer to a movie?

The only downer of the night was I missed going to jujitsu with Jenn Sansom, but I’ll go some other time, and she was very understanding. She’s a kind person. Excuse me, a kind Ninja person.

Today I’m doing some random work, and then going home for many loads of laundry and pie making. I miss my mom so bad that I’m making things that remind me of her, and since it’s fall, apple pie came to mind. Hers is the bestest, and very simple if you have a special apple corer/peeler/slicer machine. Which I do!

I could go for a McDonalds cheeseburger right now. It would make me feel sick afterwards.

I would also like a coke slurpee. It would not make me feel sick afterwards, it would be delicious.

I should go work now.

Honestly, beer at a theatre?!

This entry was posted in Misc by Jennifer James. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jennifer James

I'm a full time mom who works full time. I'm a painter, a dreamer, and a believer that the most feminist thing you can do is adore your femininity. I say what I think, when it's appropriate for sharing. I write when I feel like I have something to say. I love always.

5 thoughts on “Walking and Talking

  1. Date night with the hubby trumps jujitsu every time, I would think. 🙂

    Where do you get these Coke slurpees? I had a Dr. Pepper slurpee once from Target and it wasn’t at all what I was expecting. I almost cried. Almost.

  2. Pies??
    hmmmm
    I just made a pumpkin cheesecake.
    we should combine our forces. and have dinner one of these nights, now that i don’t work every flippin’ evening.

    oh, and i miss my mommy too 😦

  3. can i come over to both your houses? you’re making me hungry and i don’t even prefer pies. it must be fall… sweet tasty cinnamon smell-goody pies…

  4. are there good apples in missouri? the apples in southern california are pretty terrible. i was complaining about them to my dad so he is MAILING me some from washington. i am so excited! maybe i’ll make pie.

  5. I am actually a little sad about the quality of apples I used for the last pie. I got them from walmart though, so I can’t expect a whole lot. I’ll go to a nicer store next time.

    Coke slurpees come only from 7-11. No where else!

    I miss being able to blog every day. Stupid having no internet at home.

Speak to me...

