Defense.

Here is what I am thinking today: Having kids close together is abnormal. Having more than two in a world made for four people is abnormal. Investing in children instead of real estate is abnormal. Saying “yes” to days full of puke and pureed foods and showering while someone cries is abnormal.

And it needs no defense. Never the less….

I’m getting a lot of surprised looks lately when I tell people I am pregnant again. Mostly because everyone on earth reads this blog and knows the only thing we were focused on was the kid we already have, losing weight, and keeping it together in a fun loving life of loving God sort of way. Some people are surprised in a “why would you do this to yourself” sort of way. I don’t mind. Since we are in a community dedicated to loving life, there’s an abundance of babies around. But still, every now and then you get the eyebrow raise of perpetual surprise. That’s ok by me!

Life! Human life! A human life who will only add to the household, not detract. This little person has a soul and a will and a destiny, even in the womb. How can I be anything but excited about that?

Then reality kicks in. Morning sickness. Or in my case, afternoon sickness. I get intensely sea sick and want only to lie down in a dark room and sleep the sleep of the dizzified. Which worked AWESOME when Caden was in the womb, and my only commitment was to occasionally get up and pee. Now naps whenever I want don’t so much work, unless I can convince him to nap simultaneously. Usually by laying on the floor and saying “Caden! Let’s have snoozes!” and then he lays down next to me and grins, then gets up and eats something out of the carpet.

Today I laid on my side and shook rattly toys at Caden, gave him kisses, and showed him picture books. He was only mildly concerned that I was laying on the floor. Most of his concern was in the fact that I was laying on his favorite toy, the tv remote.

I’m feeling better now, and have sent word to Aaron via text to go henceforth on his way home from work and Bring Chipotle For Dinner. Oh, the modern Hunter-Gatherer. Forage some guacomole for me, for I must go lay down!

This entry was posted in Misc by Jennifer James. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jennifer James

I'm a full time mom who works full time. I'm a painter, a dreamer, and a believer that the most feminist thing you can do is adore your femininity. I say what I think, when it's appropriate for sharing. I write when I feel like I have something to say. I love always.

4 thoughts on “Defense.

  1. Well, I believe I can speak from experience in that I had a baby in Oct and was pregnant again by August….they are 17 months apart and in 5th and 6th grade now….so 12 and 10. They are like twins, both boys, closer than close. So what a privilege. The first year was a complete blur, cause the darlings were both babies, let’s not forget. Diapers for 2 for 2 years, busy and intense, but looking back, I don’t regret closeness. Granted, boy # 3 was born 3 1/2 years later, cause I couldn’t deal with another baby. We shoulda had 4 cause he is not in the clique. He is his own person, and tough too. So, be encouraged, know God has a plan, don’t let folks discourage you. Close is good. Really. From a lurker…..Lisa

  2. Oh Lisa! We love lurkers! Thanks so much for commenting and being so encouraging. We know we’re in for some excitement, and we’re really looking forward to it.

  3. Jen- I am up to speed now. I feel a little retarted for not knowing that you were prego. Getting ready for Haiti I have slacked a little on my blog reading. Wew.. there is a lot going on.

Speak to me...

