Will Create for Money

Ok that titles a lie, I’d create for free, but it’s EXTRA fun when someone wants to pay you to be creative. I’d like to get paid for writing this blog, but then I suppose I’d have to get an editor and care about how I punctuate my dialogue.

I am presently working on a painting for a lovely friend of mine that I’ve known since I was 12. Oh my that’s a long time. 13 years! She’s a nurse in New York, and asked me to do a painting for her apartment. I am almost done with it, I think one more day should do the trick, and I can’t wait to show it to her.

I’m just hoping the shipping doesn’t totally cost a fortune. I’ve never shipped something this large before, and UPS charged me out the wazoo last time I shipped a painting. Albeit that painting was a weird size. Cross your fingers for me, both that the shipping is cheap and that she likes it.

Today was a much better day than yesterday. Yesterday, the day of no Caden naps till 4pm and locking him in the car and much screaming and crying and following me around the house clinging to my ankles whenever I stood still.

Joanna, oh Saintly lovely Joanna, came over and babysat Caden for two hours while I went to meetings at work. Aaron came home, rescued her from a non-sleeping Squeaker, and she scampered off to cure cancer, or whatever it is that she does for a living.

Sydney, oh Snape-Obsessed Sydney, came over this morning before Joanna got herself pulled together and kept me company while I curled my eyelashes. Then, when Caden awoke from his morning snooze, we all got coffee.

Blessed glorious coffee.

Today’s been productive, except for when I tried to make dinner. I grabbed out a can of tuna (which Aaron hates), some egg noodles and was about to leave Aaron to fend for himself when I sighed and declared it a Chipotle night.

It was a good call.

Now with painting worked on and cookies consumed and a blog post written, I’m going to lay in bed and read.

Sweet brain candy reading.

P.S.- If you’d like a painting of your very own, for your living room or bathroom or best friends’ baby shower, both my sister and I are taking commissions right now. Meghans’ art is amazing, and you can email her for pictures of her most current works. We’re both familiar with the missionary lifestyle, so we keep it affordable. Just ask! We can tailor something to your upholstery, your style, your favorite childhood quilt, etc. We’d love to make you happy with something original.

Bonjour!

This entry was posted in Misc by Jennifer James. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jennifer James

I'm a full time mom who works full time. I'm a painter, a dreamer, and a believer that the most feminist thing you can do is adore your femininity. I say what I think, when it's appropriate for sharing. I write when I feel like I have something to say. I love always.

4 thoughts on “Will Create for Money

  1. Thanks for the plug, Jen! I’d love to host your art on my website… The website that MCarr is supposedly working on.
    That way we can make business cards to hand out when scads of people start asking us for contact info!

  2. HEY! I don’t know if you remember me…but yeah, i would LOVE a painting… i really like your bird ones with different mediums (or whatever you called it). ha ha Let’s talk soon! my email is kristajoysmiles@yahoo.com…could you email me a price possibility for a big one of those…or a small one. ha ha. narrowing it down a lot aren’t i? i am headed on vaca- so we can chat when i get back!! thanks! Krista farrell

Speak to me...

