Iron Shrubberies. (Ni!)

Or Steel Magnolias. It’s what I watched tonight, because it was on Oxygen and I’ve never seen it and I got sucked in by those THICK THICK Southern Accents, big hair, and disturbingly pre-massive surgery-normal-looking Dolly Parton.

Those that know me well know that I do not watch sad movies. One of my bff, Joanna, has been trying to convince me to watch “Marley and Me” (where we all know the dog dies at the end) and I’ve been saying no for months. I refuse to watch sad movies.

But I got sucked in on a day I was already feeling hormonally abnormally emotional. It might have something to do with the fact I did 7 loads of laundry this evening because my house was beginning to reek like Tilly’s on payday. sick.

So I watched Steel Magnolias, and Aaron came in right at the really sad part and brought me kleenex and cracked jokes about the commercials and good marketing. For some reason it was hilarious to him that the commercials were for, in this order: pads, leg shaving lotion, chocolate, chocolate, acne medication, and a weight loss program.

It felt good to cry and then laugh.

Caden was great today, taking a three hour nap in the middle of the day for no reason. I bought two new pairs of shoes, including a pair of knee high gladiator sandals my friends weren’t sure about but happily agreed to let me purchase anyway. I made pot roast in the slow cooker, poured gravy and salt on it, and I can feel my fingers ballooning up as we speak.

Aaron bought me Ben and Jerry’s. Then rationed some into a bowl and hid the rest from me (I’m an emotional eater.)

I’m praying for restful sleep with pleasant dreams. For me, and for you.

This entry was posted in Misc by Jennifer James. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jennifer James

I'm a full time mom who works full time. I'm a painter, a dreamer, and a believer that the most feminist thing you can do is adore your femininity. I say what I think, when it's appropriate for sharing. I write when I feel like I have something to say. I love always.

4 thoughts on “Iron Shrubberies. (Ni!)

Speak to me...

