My Dad!

I know from mom-experience that you can never tell what tomorrow will bring. Therefore, I am taking some time tonight to write a brief ode to my father, whose birthday is on Monday!

My dad plays many roles that I love him for (and I’m sure has hats for each of them). He is first and foremost, my dad and dad to my awesome sister. In this picture he is both coffee buyer, and grandpa. (My two personal favorite dad-hats at this moment in time!) He’s a loving example of a good husband, he is the kind voice that asks “do you want me to just listen, or do you want me to talk back at you?” when I call him upset.

He is a great lover of God, and sets a spiritual example that I’m so thankful to have around. He always tells me he’s proud of me, especially when I am feeling like I’m not doing anything worth being proud of. My dad is a great builder of forts, both cardobard and sheets-and-chairs types. He sings silly songs, and uses silly voices, and is always very serious when you need him to be.

TO you, purveyor of dirty sock fights. To you oh leader of the Smith Family Opera. To you, who crafted a home full of love, hugs, books, and good sense. I love you daddy, and I hope this birthday finds you healthier, happier, and more fulfilled than any other. (remember, it’s not the years, it’s the mileage.)

Also, you’re just plain fun!

I love you dad!

This entry was posted in Misc by Jennifer James. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jennifer James

I'm a full time mom who works full time. I'm a painter, a dreamer, and a believer that the most feminist thing you can do is adore your femininity. I say what I think, when it's appropriate for sharing. I write when I feel like I have something to say. I love always.

2 thoughts on “My Dad!

Speak to me...

