I’ve got some free time

To a mother has there ever been a more beautiful phrase than “I’ve got some free time.” ? Unless of course you are thinking of my second fav “I slept 9 hours straight last night.”

I’ve dictated to the Squeaker that it is naptime, in an attempt to get him a short nap before we leave the house to hit Starbucks (for caffeine, girl time, and Uno) and Whole Foods (for prenatal vitamins and other assorted supplements).

Don’t panic about the prenatals, I’m not pregnant. Every woman of childbearing age should take a good whole food prenatal vitamin. There are things you need in your system far in advance of growing a person, like folic acid and other vitamins. And no, those cheap target brand ones aren’t doing you any good at all. For more health food tips, check out the always natural super fantastic Amanda Box’s health blog (see blog roll.) See the things you learn from me when I have free time?

Perhaps one day I will retire to a mountain top and dispense advice, and snacks.

Last night was hang out night, the loose term for people coming over, eating whatever they can find that’s not nailed down, and watching whatever reruns or movie I feel like watching. I fed Jo and Tyler some awesome slow cooker pot roast and veggies with pan gravy, and I ate cake and ice cream and three cookies. Looks like I am going to have to work out all 7 days this week, instead of my normal 5. I’ve made some poor choices, and extra exercise is the consequence. With all this mild weather, I’m hoping to take Caden for a long walk in the park. Normally it’s too hot, but it’s so nice out lately!

Saturday is tea for our artistic mentor/friend Shelley, Sunday is gluten free dinner for Sarah Troyer. Do you have any idea how difficult it is to cook something completely gluten free that ISN’T a salad? I’ll take any ideas you might have.

Caden has decided to dictate that he is NOT napping right now. Mostly by grinning at me. I’ve retrieved him from his crib, and am awaiting the arrival of the girls for coffee date morning. Oh the glamour!

This entry was posted in Misc by Jennifer James. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jennifer James

I'm a full time mom who works full time. I'm a painter, a dreamer, and a believer that the most feminist thing you can do is adore your femininity. I say what I think, when it's appropriate for sharing. I write when I feel like I have something to say. I love always.

2 thoughts on “I’ve got some free time

  1. Did I hear someone ask for gluten free recipes?? Say no more…
    Nearly any thai dish will do, my personal favorites being Pad Thai or a nice green or red chicken curry with rice. Black bean soup (google it and look at Elise’s recipe – should be the first one) or really any kind of bean soup is great. Cornbread is a great side for the soup…just replace the cup of normal flour with a cup of brown rice flour. You could get a whole chicken from Trader Joe’s and bake the sucker, then add brown rice with cranberries as a side. There’s curried rice with sausage (with the curry seasoning pack from Oregon Spice Co. that comes so you just have to dump it into the rice. TJ’s also has cheap brown rice noodles with which you could make some pesto chicken pasta. Okay, I’ll stop filling up the comment page, but seriously, I have dozens of recipes, so email me if you want more ideas…Love, Bec

  2. Hey thanks for those awesome ideas! Too bad we are 500 miles from the nearest trader joe’s and most gluten free things don’t work with MY diet, which is very low carb. Sigh. We’ll think of something!

    Love the Thai ideas….

Speak to me...

