Freedom

Aaron is off to shoot some kids. No seriously. He’s off to photograph our huge youth/young people conference, Fascinate. Since I am unwilling to suffer tomorrow as a result of messing with Caden’s sleep schedule, I am here at home doing the night time shift solo.

I just gave Caden some delicious foods, and put him to bed with two paci’s, two blankets, and a clean diaper. The dual paci/blanket situation stems from the fact that he crawls around in his bed for about half an hour before he falls asleep. He talks to himself and plays with his bear, Chaucer. Aaron and I determined very very early on in Caden’s life that we wanted him to be able to soothe himself to sleep. We always keep an ear out for a truly sad cry or notification of distress, but other than that we put him down at roughly the same time every night and let him do his thing til he conks out.

Last night I got a huge surprise. What I thought was a dinner date with our good friends Joanna and Tyler was actually dinner and a date night for Aaron and I. After splitting some truly awesome foodstuffs at Blanc, Aaron took me to First Friday, a cool thing where the arts district opens a bunch of galleries and people wander around looking at art and watching street musicians and performers. Aaron and I share a mutual love of fine and photographic art, so it was a perfect date for us.

Not to mention Aaron rarely surprises me with nights out, because scheduling and parenting rarely permit it, so it was a huge blessing. We saw some art we liked, and some we hated. Aaron was particularly appalled by one photographer whose style she called “pseudo-documentary” and was basically all on-camera flash and no composition. He was very upset. 🙂

After that we went to the Plaza, and had second dinner of a side of spaghetti with fried mozzarella at Buca Di Beppos. We hit Barnes and Nobles, shared a triple chunk chocolate chip cookie and read some books. We stayed up until almost 11. We felt like such grown ups!

It was a great sense of freedom to know that we could go out, enjoy being a couple, enjoy the beautiful night, and have our Caden watched over by people who truly love him.

Oh, you thought the “freedom” tie in was going to have something to do with the fact that today is the 4th of July? Pshhh. Puh-lease.

Oh and as of yesterday, I have returned to my pre-pregnancy weight, so Aaron took some pictures of me downtown to mark the milestone. I am still quite a bit away from my goal weight because I was trying to lose some extra weight I’d gained when I found out I was pregnant. Still though, it’s a big milestone for me. Quite a ways to go to the ultimate goal of 140(ish), but I’m happy to be back in my size tens.

I hear my weight watchers ice cream (which is so good) and my book calling my name.

Oh and, since it is the 4th:

Happy Fourth of July! au revoir!

This entry was posted in Misc by Jennifer James. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jennifer James

I'm a full time mom who works full time. I'm a painter, a dreamer, and a believer that the most feminist thing you can do is adore your femininity. I say what I think, when it's appropriate for sharing. I write when I feel like I have something to say. I love always.

5 thoughts on “Freedom

  1. I’m with Aaron on the pseudo-documentary thing. I hate that kind of thing! I saw a show on TV a while back about photography, and there were several of the photographers they highlighted that quite frankly, if I took photos that looked like that I’d through them out! On camera lighting, bad focus, bad composition, then call it art? Blech!

  2. Jessica- I don’t have two older kids to wrangle either. You win every sport on the mom-olympics as far as I’m concerned.

    Dorean- oh and the pics were AWFUL. It looked like a point and shoot with a VERY bright flash. So so bad…

  3. Jen- Congrats on the weight thing. That is great, although I have to say that I think that you are gorgeous any weight. You shine and I love that about you. Secondly….can we borrow the Eitle’s? Is that how you spell it??? 🙂 Love ya!

Speak to me...

