Fast

I was sitting in the prayer room this morning wondering on the topic of being healthy. I’ve been praying for Godly assistance in losing the baby weight I gained, and this has effected many fun changes in my life. The most fun being the wake up at 6am to do P90X workout routine with Aaron. It’s actually been really fun and I am sleeping SO much better at night, which is a blessing.

Thanks to Weight watchers I am learning to make healthier food choices, and all in all I’m encouraged. It’s made me wonder why, if we are supposed to be healthy, did God make celery taste bland, and chocolate taste amazing? I mean, what was He thinking when he made flavors like that?

I think He geared it so we have to care. In order to be really healthy, we have to make conscious decisions to pursue health. You have to put down the pile of waffles every now and then and have an apple. Then I got to thinking, it’s just like we have to make a conscious decision to pursue HIM. oooooo see what I did there? I connected it!

I don’t really have any unhealthy habits other than one: my one latte every single day. I’ll be honest, I don’t fast very much, if at all because I was pregnant, than nursing etc. I was praying this morning and telling the Lord if he wanted me to fast my last “unhealthy” habit, he’d have to give me a REALLY clear sign. A seattle born girl doesn’t just give up her coffee for any old reason. In fact pretty much the only reason I’d give it up is if God clearly told me to.

I told him, “ok Lord, if I go into Higher Grounds for my coffee today and for whatever reason there’s a problem getting my coffee, I’ll take that as your sign it’s time to give up my last habit, and I’ll fast coffee for a week.”

Off I went into Higher Grounds, baby Caden in tow, medium sized banana in hand (morning snack for me!) and ordered my usual. “Oh hold on,” the barista says, “I need to check something.” I stood patiently and waited, sure he meant he needed to check his stocks or tie his shoe. He came back with this bomb to drop:

“we’re out of espresso.”

Yes. The coffee shop. OUT OF BEANS. HOW DOES THAT HAPPEN!? IT’S A COFFEE SHOP!? That’s like the grocery store not having food, or the mall just accidentally running out of clothes. It’s positively inhumane.

And now I have to fast coffee for a week.

I love how the Lord talks to me.

Aaron thinks this is all hilarious. He had the nerve to laugh at me over his coffee cup. Laugh in a nice way, but still!

This entry was posted in Misc by Jennifer James. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jennifer James

I'm a full time mom who works full time. I'm a painter, a dreamer, and a believer that the most feminist thing you can do is adore your femininity. I say what I think, when it's appropriate for sharing. I write when I feel like I have something to say. I love always.

4 thoughts on “Fast

  1. I just realized I haven’t had any coffee today…He tricked me into fasting it.

    Seriously, I think you will get something beyond good health for this fast!

Speak to me...