Divine Fire

I had a dream last night about my next baby. So many dreams lately..

In the dream, we had another baby, a boy! (yay boys!) In the dream, I told Aaron the name I was given for him was Phoenix. Dream Aaron says, ” Oh wow. Um, really? Phoenix? Isn’t that a lot for a kid?” He wasn’t a huge fan of the name. I was adamant, it was the name given to me by God! “That’s the name he’s getting, call him Nix if you want, but his name is Phoenix.” Dream Aaron finally agreed.

When I woke up, I told Aaron the dream, and about the name. Aaron wrinkled his nose and said, “Oh wow. Um, really? Phoenix?” I laughed.

I know the ancient Egyptian and Greek myths about the Phoenix, a bird that, at the end of it’s life, builds itself a nest of myrrh twigs that then incinerates, burning both nest and bird, only to leave the egg of the soon to be born phoenix in the ashes.

It’s then reborn and repeats the cycle, forever. There are all kinds of fun (for someone who likes a good story) myths about the phoenix: that it can heal with it’s song or tears, that it flies into and out of the sun etc. You can wikipedia it.

I just thought it was interesting.

This entry was posted in Misc by Jennifer James. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jennifer James

I'm a full time mom who works full time. I'm a painter, a dreamer, and a believer that the most feminist thing you can do is adore your femininity. I say what I think, when it's appropriate for sharing. I write when I feel like I have something to say. I love always.

3 thoughts on “Divine Fire

  1. Dude I love the name Phoenix. He can be friends with my sons Dominique, Griffin and Theo (ie Theodred).

    🙂
    Sorry Dad… no “Bob” or “Jim” or “Jim Bob” in THIS family.

  2. Of course, the dream could be about something other than an actual baby. It could refer to something “new” God is going to do in your life, which is actually a revival, of sorts. For what it’s worth…

Speak to me...

