My Secret Dream

I have a secret dream. It’s to be able to live off of my love of making art. I’ve reached a point in my art where my moving forward is prohibited by my lack of training. I wish I had some really good classes on form, color, painting styles etc. I have basic training, and I’m confident in that, but I need more. I need to learn!

I still feel like going to art school to learn to be a better painter and artist is frivolous. I mean, I have a child, I’m at some point having more children, I’m married, my husband is already working very hard on his own artistic career, and needs my support. Can’t really take a baby to a photo shoot. One day Caden will be the worlds youngest photography assistant, I’m sure. But now I need to be home so Aaron can focus on launching Sidestreet Photography.

But still…

Kansas City has one of the best art schools in the country, the Kansas City Art Institute. I got online the other day and started drooling over their major lists, and their class descriptions. They have a textiles major, a painting major, a photography major…the list goes on. I never finished college, I went two years and then came here to K.C., met Aaron and never went back. Part of me has always missed the idea of finishing school and having a degree. Mostly because I’m very goal oriented, not because I’m overly impressed with degrees.

I look at my paintings, and other peoples art work and mostly say to myself “I want to do better! I want to match those pictures in my head! I want to know how they DID that!?” I think I truly want to go to art school.

There’s one catch. KCAI is 15,0000. A semester. Yes, that’s 30,000 a year just to walk in the door. That doesn’t count supply fees, class fees, or books.

Then I had a dream the other night. In the dream I sat talking to Lou Engle. I told Lou “I think I want to go to art school, but there is no way on earth we could pay for it.” Lou looked at me and said “Ask God for the tuition..” And I was like, “Really Lou? That’s your big solution?” And he continued to impress upon me the importance of asking God for the money to go to art school.

So, looks like I’m asking God for 30,000 dollars. I dream of going to art school. Pray with me?

This entry was posted in Misc by Jennifer James. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jennifer James

I'm a full time mom who works full time. I'm a painter, a dreamer, and a believer that the most feminist thing you can do is adore your femininity. I say what I think, when it's appropriate for sharing. I write when I feel like I have something to say. I love always.

3 thoughts on “My Secret Dream

  1. Ask God for the tuition. Please don’t give up on your dream. I am starting grad school this summer, my three kids are in school now so it is a good season. It is a dream of mine and I will do it. Yes, it will cost. But all worth it things do. Be encouraged. Mothering is valuable too.

  2. Praying for supernatural financial provision for art school. He is Jehovah Jireh!!! I’ll look forward to hearing your testimony when it all comes about. : )

Speak to me...

