Go Vegan.

We went over to Jennifer and Dwayne Roberts house for a onething team dinner tonight. It was a great time of hanging out with people, though the large and loud crowd scared the baby for a bit. Then he conked out once he adjusted, but for a few minutes there he did a great impression of a scared baby chimpanzee and clung to my neck. Poor peanut.

So, you might be wondering about my title. I am now a huge proponent of going vegan. Yes, vegan. No dairy, no meat, no animal products of any kind, down to and including the high fructose corn syrup in your “natural” cereal.

Here’s why.

Going vegan means that Jennifer, Dwayne and their family are going off of coffee. This just so happens to mean they have an espresso machine they aren’t using for months. This poor little machine is just sitting their, on their counter, unused and unloved (for now.). I happened to ask Jennifer R. how she liked it, since everyone knows I’m coveting an espresso machine of my own.

In the ensuing conversation, she told me she liked it alot, though it was a tad tempermental, but Dwayne had just fixed it and it was a shame, since they’d gone vegan and off coffee. Oh wait! she says. Would you like to take it? You can take it home tonight?!

The angels in heaven paused a moment, looked down at my joy, and sang a song of glory and praise. That’s right. I am now the proud foster parent of a Starbucks counter-top espresso machine. So she’s a little smaller than the machine I wanted, who cares?! I was going to name my espresso machine Elinore, and this one is a bit smaller and less high powered, so I shall name my foster child Elly. I shall love Elly, clean her properly, give her the most deliciously roasted beans, fill her reservoir with clean cold water, tell her she is a good girl, and a strong girl, and mommy loves her very much.

Very very much. soooooo much.

This got me thinking, if going vegan means I get to inherit things like an espresso machine. I think everyone should go vegan. SO vegan. Meat you aren’t going to eat? I love meat! Everyone knows vegans are hippies, and hippies are dirty * so all that expensive shampoo you aren’t going to use can come straight to me. Feel bad about ruining the environment with your huge gas powered suv? I’m happy to take that nice car off your hands.

* I don’t actually think hippies are dirty, or all vegans are hippies. Though it usually ends up that way.

Now that I am going to be able to get coffee (and therefore caffetinate) for free, anticipate many more deep thoughts from justeastofwest.

And Dwayne and Jennifer? I can’t thank you enough. I just can’t.

This entry was posted in Misc by Jennifer James. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jennifer James

I'm a full time mom who works full time. I'm a painter, a dreamer, and a believer that the most feminist thing you can do is adore your femininity. I say what I think, when it's appropriate for sharing. I write when I feel like I have something to say. I love always.

8 thoughts on “Go Vegan.

  1. Jen- You bad, bad girl..:0 Hope you enjoy your caffiene, I am once again going off. (Sorry, nothing to offer you though) My body just cannot handle it anymore.

Speak to me...

